Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Computer won't turn on when jumper port is plugged in?

(!)

Junior Member with 9 posts.

Experience: Beginner
29-May-2010, 09:36 PM #1
Solved: Computer won't turn on when jumper port is plugged in?
I'm using a custom built computer i bought off of craigslist in good condition. Has 32 Bit XP OS.

So my problem is, i have to keep the cable that plugs into the jump port( I MAY or may not be correct) unplugged, otherwise it wont even strart up, when i unplug it, it starts the fans and CPU, But says like No boots disk detected. Im fairly new to computers in terms of hardware, but this happened when i moved it out of my room so i could get my carpets cleaned, could moving it had done something? i don't think my HDD is fried, but that could be the case.

Ill keep checking this thread through out the rest of the night until if you need anymore information
cwwozniak   (Chuck) cwwozniak is offline cwwozniak is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. cwwozniak has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 47,116 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
30-May-2010, 12:25 AM #2
Exactly what do you mean by a "jump port"? Can you provide a picture of this port and the cable?
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 20 posts.

30-May-2010, 12:58 AM #3
at above

Id assume he means a USB Port
Some people call USB Drives Jump Drives or Flash Drives.

30-May-2010, 08:39 AM #4

Whenever i plug in the cord into the four prong "Jumper Pins", it shuts down.
Computer Specs
Member with 11,665 posts.

Experience: Advanced
30-May-2010, 08:47 AM #5
There is no cord that plugs into the jumpers. The jumpers set the drive as master, slave or cable select by moving the jumper cap.

30-May-2010, 09:08 AM #6