Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Computer Starts for 1 Second then dies

(!)

Junior Member with 6 posts.

12-Nov-2010, 07:03 PM #1
Computer Starts for 1 Second then dies
Hello Noob here,

I have a built my own computer, however one day when I got home the computer was shut down and it would not restart again. I finally got it to restart but it goes on for 1 second the phase LED turn on the mobo but then dies immediately. I did some research and the first answer that came up was that it may be the power supply. I got a new one however still the same problem. Then I heard it may be the mobo, so I did an RMA with Gigabyte but they said there was nothing wrong with the mobo and they just updated the bios. I looked at the cpu and from what I can tell there is no physical damage to that ie. burnt. Any idea on what may be the problem? It has been causing a lot of stress lol

My Specs:
OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
Intel i7 860
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws
Gigabyte UD4P
Nvidia Geforce 7600
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2
WD Raptors 2x74GB
Computer Specs
Moderator with 51,605 posts.

13-Nov-2010, 09:09 AM #2
could it be a temperature issue - is the fan on the CPU working OK - is the heatsink correctly seated on the CPU - is there thermal compound between heatsink and CPU

13-Nov-2010, 01:11 PM #3
yep to all, the thermal paste is the one which was provided by intel. could it be the thermal paste is very bad? Also the heatsink is provided by Intel. Would it be worthwhile to upgrade it?
Computer Specs

13-Nov-2010, 01:15 PM #4
how long has it been working correctly

14-Nov-2010, 01:53 AM #5
it worked for about a month before it failed
Computer Specs

14-Nov-2010, 05:27 AM #6
i would remove all devices except for - System harddrive , mobo, psu, memory, graphics
see if that works in a minimum configuration