Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Samsung LCD monitor goes black repeatedly

(!)

Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
21-Feb-2011, 09:04 PM #1
Samsung LCD monitor goes black repeatedly
I have a Samsung LCD Syncmaster 906BW and a fairly new NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 video card. My problem started a couple days ago where the display will go black and will not come back on unless I push the power button off then on again. This works untill it goes black again after another 15 seconds. I've checked all connections (power, VGA), checked that display and video card drivers are the most current, even removed the video card and put back in, I've replayed monitor power cord with another. I've double checked power saving settings and they are set to "never" for display and for computer sleep. If the computer is powered down for a couple hours then this "problem" doesn't start up for 20-30 minutes, but inevitably no matter what I've tried it continues. So far I'm stumped and would love to hear some input from you guys. I haven't tried switching it out with my old CRT display to see what that would do, I guess that would tell me if it was the monitor or not. Anyway, looking forward to your comments!!

22-Feb-2011, 10:09 AM #2
So I've continued on with the troubleshooting and hooked up an old Dell CRT monitor. Everything ran fine with no blacking out on that monitor so I guess we can isolate it to the Samsung LCD monitor right? Does it sound like it's something that can be resolved with something in the settings, like I said I've switched out the power cord to the monitor, I haven't tried another VGA or DVI for that matter. Would love to hear some feedback from all you smart techies out there! Thanks!
Noyb   (Jay) Noyb is online now Noyb is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs