Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Screeching Noise from Laptop Speakers

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 5 posts.

Experience: Enuf to be dangerous
10-Mar-2011, 04:08 AM #1
Question Solved: Screeching Noise from Laptop Speakers
I have a Toshiba laptop that I bought approx one year ago. I do not dowload extraneous junk from the internet. I am a grad student and mostly use the lptp for work and school. For the past three months, whether the computer is on mute or not (has done this several times in class), on hard surface or not, the computer makes this really random screeching noise from the speakers. I have read through hundreds of forums relating this to fans and motherboards and I dont hear anything other than crazy screechy speakers. The sound is so loud that I actually have to do a hard reboot with the power switch in order to get it to stop. I have reinstalled the drivers several times and within a week or so the sound comes back. Always after I have been working on it for at least an hour or two, so I tend to think that it is a heating issue as I have noticed that this computer can get insanely hot, even on a hot surface. I have had no other problems with this computer and am quite pleased at how well it works, if I could just get rid of the crazy noise it would be perfect. I would appreciate any help or advice.
Thanks!

Diag:
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.101026-1503)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
System Model: Satellite M505D
BIOS: BIOS Date: 11/13/09 14:28:07 Ver: V1.40
Processor: AMD Turion(tm) II Dual-Core Mobile M520 (2 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3838MB RAM
Page File: 2138MB used, 5533MB available
Windows Dir: C:\windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found