Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Hardware Hardware
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Graphics card not detected - PSU problem?

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: Pretty new to all this
17-Apr-2011, 07:58 AM #1
Graphics card not detected - PSU problem?
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional , 32 bit
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E6500 @ 2.93GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3549 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) G41 Express Chipset, 1550 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 305142 MB, Free - 227675 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P5G41-M LE, Rev X.0x, MF70A6G04802126
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2011, Updated and Enabled

Hi,

I'm pretty new to opening computers and adjusting their hardware, but recently tried to install a graphics card into my desktop computer. The only graphics card at the time was the onboard one. I tried to install a Sapphire Radeon HD5670 PCI-E card. I disabled (rather than uninstalled) the onboard graphics card, doing this on the device manager. I put the new card in, it seemed to click into place and I'm sure it was in all the way. I plugged the monitor into the card's VGA port, turned it on and - no image appeared on the screen.

I plugged the monitor back into the onboard graphics card port, and an image appeared. When Windows 7 loaded, it did not detect any new hardware. I looked on the internet, and some people seemed to suggest that I should go into BIOS and somehow tell the computer to look in the PCI-E slot for a graphics card there. I couldn't find any settings that allowed me to do that - making me wonder if other people have the same BIOS options that I do.