Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Linux and Unix Linux and Unix
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Ubuntu: wanting to change Apache2 root folder

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 574 posts.

Experience: A bit of this & that
21-Jul-2012, 11:16 AM #1
Solved: Ubuntu: wanting to change Apache2 root folder
Hi All,

I am new to Ubuntu and a little confused.

i have installed Apache2 and got it working so it currently displays the "It Works" page

I am wanting to change the default root folder from "var/www" to "/home/lambnet/Dropbox/Personal/Webserver/Live"

when i was using windows it was a case of just changing one line in the config file but this does not seem to be the case with ubuntu. I have looked around on google and tried a few things but everything seems to say different things.

Is anybody able to help me with this?

Many thanks

James
Computer Specs
Member with 141 posts.

Experience: Advanced
22-Jul-2012, 03:00 PM #2
I have been in the exact same situation as you, and I remember my frustration. I found a very good tutorial here that explained everything to me. Essentially what you do, is you have to copy the default settings, change some things, then set your copy as the default. The page I linked to is a tutorial on setting up a LAMP (Linux/Apache/MySQL/PHP) stack on Ubuntu. The section you want is entitled "Virtual Hosts". It starts out like this:

Quote:
Virtual Hosts

Apache2 has the concept of sites, which are separate configuration files that Apache2 will read. These are available in /etc/apache2/sites-available. By default, there is one site available called default this is what you will see when you browse to http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1. You can have many different site configurations available, and activate only those that you need...
Continue reading on the link and you'll see the steps
Computer Specs
Member with 1 posts.