Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Linux and Unix Linux and Unix
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Red Hat Linux 9 Installation

(!)

Junior Member with 5 posts.

10-Jan-2004, 12:53 PM #1
Red Hat Linux 9 Installation
I've just bought Red Hat Linux 9 Bible by Christopher Negus and it comes with Red Hat Linux Installation CDs. I want to install Red Hat Linux onto my Windows XP system, trouble is, windows doesn't recognise any of the files. I don't know how to install it otherwise.

If you tell me to sort out my boot options then you're going to have to tell me how because I have no idea how to do that. Same with partitioning and anything else that borders on technical. I'm a complete newbie.

Please help.
Trusted Advisor with 19,658 posts.

10-Jan-2004, 02:48 PM #2
If you know nothing about partitioning or Linux at all, I would advise you not try and setup a dual boot system. Sounds like you are even a complete newbie to windows as well since you dont know how to partition either.

If you dont have any unpartitioned space on your hard drive right now. YOu are going to have to go and buy a program like Partition Magic and resize your windows partition to make room for Red Hat.

When I personally started using Linux, I signed up for a class at my local Tech College. It only cost me a little over $200 at the time. I then went out and bought a cheap computer for $150 to throw Red Hat 5.2 on. I think that is the best way to go for learning purposes. But that is just one man's opinion.

10-Jan-2004, 05:51 PM #3
I'm not a complete newbie to windows, I've worked on windows all my life, I just don't know anything about changing my operating system.
Member with 97 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
10-Jan-2004, 10:07 PM #4
l3ktr1k,