Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How to save a shell script

(!)

Junior Member with 6 posts.

20-Nov-2007, 07:52 AM #1
How to save a shell script
Hey,

So I'm new to programming in Linux/Unix. Can anyone tell me how I can write a shell script and then save it? As in write a little programme and then be able to execute it whenever I like? I'm stating the obvious by saying I don't have to type the whole thing each time. Does anyone know a good website for learning how to write scripts?

Thanks all!
Computer Specs
Member with 417 posts.

Experience: UNIX/Linux Pro, M$ 'doze Sufferer
20-Nov-2007, 08:50 AM #2
Quote:
Originally Posted by new_techie
So I'm new to programming in Linux/Unix. Can anyone tell me how I can write a shell script and then save it? As in write a little programme and then be able to execute it whenever I like? I'm stating the obvious by saying I don't have to type the whole thing each time. Does anyone know a good website for learning how to write scripts?
$ cat > ~/bin/myscript
#!/bin/sh

# My first script
echo Foo bah!
<CNTRL-D>
$ chmod +x !$

To edit in terminal there's usually a simple editor like nano installed, or you can use GUI text editor (avoid word processor as they do dumb things to programs). If you're a touch typist, then vi(1) is the best so long as you don't mind modes and putting in a little effort to learn it, emacs(1) and most other editors like <CNTRL> and <ALT> codes for commands.

Just go to http://tldp.org/ there's Guides, read "Intro to Linux", "Bash Guid for Beginners", "Command Line Tools" and only then "Advanced Bash-Scripting".