Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Linux and Unix Linux and Unix
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Outlook Express to Ubuntu

(!)

twscarp twscarp is offline twscarp has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 110 posts.

Experience: Beginner
09-Oct-2010, 06:39 AM #1
Solved: Outlook Express to Ubuntu
Hi guys (& girls), I have been computing with XP for about 5 1/2 years, with no major issues, but admittedly I'm not that swift technically with it. Monday I downloaded Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, followed the dual boot instructions, and it is working! Thought I would give it a try. I have read some articles and googled topics, but cannot get the email working. I currently use Outlook Express in XP, and works every well for me. I would like to use that also in Ubuntu, but apparently is not possible. What is a easy solution, do people bring their old email program with them somehow, or do they use the email program Evolution packaged with Ubuntu? I tried downloading Thunderbird (I read that to import the OE addresses, it must go through Thunderbird), and I think it downloaded, but I don't know where it went, and don't know how to proceed. Any help would be appreciated, thanks,...Tom
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 5,237 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
09-Oct-2010, 09:10 AM #2
Hi,
For Thunderbird -
- where did you download it from?.
- have you looked for it in the menu/ Possibly 'applications' > office or applications > internet?

Evolution comes with Ubuntu as you've noticed. It's a bit more like Outlook than Outlook Express as it comes with calendar & reminder etc.

See how your hunt for Thunderbird goes first though!!

Richard
Computer Specs
Moderator with 67,247 posts.

09-Oct-2010, 10:39 AM #3
I use Thunderbird in all my systems, but I'm sure Evolution also works fine.
Computer Specs
Member with 110 posts.

09-Oct-2010, 02:12 PM #4