Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Linux and Unix Linux and Unix
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Help Re-installing XP over Ubuntu

(!)

undrscore undrscore is offline undrscore has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 69 posts.

Experience: very computer savvy
04-Apr-2011, 11:41 AM #1
Help Re-installing XP over Ubuntu
I was given a Dell Inspiron (6000 series I believe) and for some reason was unable to install XP on it. My more computer savvy friend gave it a try but to no avail. I figured, well, if is this computer completely unable to install any OS? or is it just XP?
I went ahead and installed Ubuntu and it workede great. Now for some of you techies you may think that now it is an awesome computer. But I really want to install XP back on the machine because I am not a programmer. Coding and myself don't seem to play nice together. I'm a designer. Math hurts...unless i use it typographically.
Anyway, Ubuntu does not run .exe files natively.
I wanted to access the system's BIOS to see if I could potentially wipe the system from there, but there is a password protect and I don't have a password for it. My father (who gave me the laptop) doesn't have a password either. He had it wiped clean because he got a bad virus or trojan and because it was taking too long to fix at the store (GeekSquad I believe) he bought a MacBook Pro.
[That's when he ordered it to be wiped clean and when he gave it to me since he replaced his laptop.]
I have attempted password like admin, password, *pressing enter with nothing typed* , and others I can't remember.
I even read somewhere that if you remove the battery for a select period of time and put it back in, it would reset the entire system, so I did just that. Took it all apart, got lazy, didn't put it back together for about a week, then put it all together again (pretty good job if I say so myself!).
Still- no cigar.