Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Multimedia Multimedia
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

File type .COS2 ?

(!)

Member with 190 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
05-Dec-2007, 08:18 PM #1
Question File type .COS2 ?
Does anyone have a clue about .COS2 files that appear mysteriously?
Each file is 7KB in size.
Each has a file name matching a valid file name which exists in the same folder.
The valid files are all .wma or .wmv files.

Does anyone know what is generating these files, and for what purpose?

Should I just delete them?

Thanks,
OldJoe
Account Disabled with 1,098 posts.

Experience: Advanced
05-Dec-2007, 08:32 PM #2
Google 'cos2 file extension'. It appears to be some Java cryptography stuff which I'm guessing is tied in with DRM. (I tried to read thru the document google linked too but frankly, I got lost. I'm not that good with cryptography.)

If you want to, delete one from an unimportant file & see if it still plays-then see if it re-created it when it played. It might be a digital signature, or it might be a license key, or it might be something else.
Member with 190 posts.

05-Dec-2007, 09:41 PM #3
Calvin.

Thanks for the reply. I accept the JAVA explanation, but I fail to see how JAVA got involved with these media files. I deleted one as you suggested, and the associated wma file played fine without it (using Windows Media Player 9.0), and the cos2 file was not regenerated. I'm still scratching my head... I will try other players too...
(Such as Nero and Pinnacle which I had been using with these media files)

OldJoe

Last edited by oldjoe; 05-Dec-2007 at 09:49 PM..
Couriant   (James) Couriant is offline Couriant is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Trusted Advisor with 30,813 posts.

06-Dec-2007, 12:57 AM #4
Where are the COS2 files showing? I don't see a valid extension to COS2.
Member with 190 posts.

10-Dec-2007, 06:39 PM #5