Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Multimedia Multimedia
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How to Reduce Video size

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 5 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
19-Apr-2010, 08:52 AM #1
How to Reduce Video size
I am new to this video stuff. I connected my old Sony camcorder to my new PC with windows 7 in order to transfer my old videos to the computer. I used Windows Live Movie Maker and choose import from device. Now that I have the entire tape on my PC, the size of one file of one hour and half is 19 GB the frame is 720 x 480 and the size of the bitrate is 29877 kbps. I want to transfer this video to a CD and also to keep a copy on my PC. How do I compress this video to make it smaller to fit on a CD and to use less space on my PC hard drive? Is there any free program I should download to do this? Thanks for your help.
cwwozniak   (Chuck) cwwozniak is offline cwwozniak is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. cwwozniak has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 46,759 posts.

19-Apr-2010, 11:07 AM #2
Hi javier200, and welcome to TSG.

I am going to ask a moderator to move your question to the Multimedia forum. The Tips and Tricks forum is for sharing tips and tricks you have found and wish to share with other members.
Computer Specs

19-Apr-2010, 02:09 PM #3
Thanks for your help. This is the first time I am using this great website so I still have a lot to learn. Your help is appreciated.
cwwozniak   (Chuck) cwwozniak is offline cwwozniak is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. cwwozniak has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs

19-Apr-2010, 02:34 PM #4
What file format are you using to save the file on the computer?