Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Multimedia Multimedia
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: PC to HDTV

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 3 posts.

Experience: No Exp with PC to TV
29-Jul-2010, 03:34 PM #1
Solved: PC to HDTV
I'm new to the PC to TV arena and need some connection suggestions:

PC: X58 chipset, 6GB RAM, i7-930 2.8GHz, Windows Ultimate 7 64-bit, EVGA nVidia GTX 480 (not SLI'd) with 2 DVI and 1 mini-HDMI outputs, PCIe TV tuner with dual tuners, ATSC/Clear QAM & NTSC-Analog capable, 75-Ohm inputs with MPEG2 and MPEG4 decoders built-in; Blu-ray player, DVD-burner, SATA-III TB-level HDs; no-monitors.

HDTV: built-in dual tuners, 720p or 1080i and multiple Component, Composite, S-Video and Sound inputs -- no HDMI, no RJ-45.

I want to connect my PC directly to this HDTV to play Blu-Rays (albeit not in 1080p), DVDs, upscaled DVDs, streamed internet content and over-the-air HDTV, SDTV, analog channels.

Suggestions on converters, cables, etc., esp. "mini-HDMI to Component" or "DVI to Component", plus other hardware and software for the best performance and least tech issues (if possible, solutions under $500 preferred)?

Thx in advance for the assistance!
cwwozniak   (Chuck) cwwozniak is offline cwwozniak is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. cwwozniak has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 47,205 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
29-Jul-2010, 05:04 PM #2
Hi NE-Homestead, and welcome to TSG.

I think I found a page of specs for the EVGA nVidia GTX 480:
http://www.evga.com/articles/00528/

If the DVI outputs are DVI-I as listed, the DVI ports include analog video. You may only need a fairly simple connection converter block like this one and some RCA video patch cables to connect to the TV:
http://www.amazon.com/DVI-I-To-Compo.../dp/B000BSHHY8