Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Multimedia Multimedia
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Which format is best WMA or WAV or MP3?

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 41 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
09-Aug-2010, 10:10 AM #1
Which format is best WMA or WAV or MP3?
I have read many threads and would imagine many people are confused by it all. I work in the industry and would like to clear things up a bit.

If you listen to classical music then you should aim to have all your music stored digitally on nothing less than FLAC.
The reason being that once you start compressing classical music performed by a full orchestra you start losing the scale of the piece. The position of the instruments is very important to the whole image of the piece and compression will lose much of the sense of space between them all.

If you listen to pop music i.e, rock, r&b, indie etc, you will lose information only important to big money systems. Listen to e.g. Britney at 192 bitrate mp3 file on a portable stereo will make no difference than a 320 mp3 file. Listen to it on a decent hi-fi from a good pair of Headphones and you will notice a difference.

Imagine how many instruments went into making the music you listen to, how you are going to listen to it and you decide how you will store it. If you paid more that 150 pounds for your system then MP3 80 bitrate is a no no. If you paid over 500 Pounds for it then under 192 bitrate is definately a no no and best avoid mp3 too. In general, a guitar or 2, a drummer and a keyboard don't have too much information to worry about, 192 mp3, WMA or WAV will do fine (roughly speaking). More is best though and who knows maybe tommorrow you will update that system or those headphones, so why not save in the best quality your space will allow?