Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Internet Keeps Cutting Out

(!)

Junior Member with 4 posts.

Experience: Computer Illiterate
30-Jul-2011, 05:04 PM #1
Internet Keeps Cutting Out
This is, uh, a guess a response to
http://forums.techguy.org/networking...ing-out-2.html
But it was last updated in 2007 and says it has since been expired. And I am experiencing the same problem so I thought I would ask on how to fix it here.

Anyways, I will get to the point. (I'm not very good with computers so try and work with me here.)
About a month or two ago I started experiencing network problems with my main computer in my house. It is connected to the internet through a wired connection via the router. It would randomly start cutting in and out for no reason that I could see and it happened around every 5 - 10 minutes. I also have 2 laptops, 2 xbox 360's, and 2 itouch's all connected to the internet wirelessly and they never got the same problem as the computer connected right to the internet. But about a week after that all of the previously listed wireless connections started cutting out every 5 - 10 minutes. For the past about 3 weeks I have been constantly resetting my router and modem in hopes it would fix, but it doesn't. I've placed them both in a different area hoping that would help, still nothing. So I just decided that maybe it'd stop after a while, so everytime it cut out I would connect to my neighbors wireless for about 3 minutes, continue what I was doing, reconnect to my home network, and go on that for 5 minutes, and repeat throughout the day.