Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Static IP from ISP on Windows Server w/DHCP

(!)

Junior Member with 10 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
22-Aug-2011, 04:32 PM #1
Exclamation Static IP from ISP on Windows Server w/DHCP
Hi, I hope the title didn't confuse you...
I'm totally new to using Windows Server 2003 (or any windows server edition) but I do have a basic understand of networking.

Ok, so here's what's going on... I have a machine with Windows Server 2003 running an Exchange Server in a office with 5 workstations attached. The server is being used for a basic outlook calendar across the various workstations, nothing major. Our current ISP provides us with a Static IP address. The party that installed and configured the server set it up to run the DHCP server on the server PC itself. As in, the machine running windows server is also running a software DHCP server for the entire network.

THE SETUP: As of right now we have a wall port (internet access) with a cable running to a 8 port unmanaged netgear switch that has cables hooked up to the 5 workstations as well as the server itself. Pretty simple.

THE QUESTION: How do I configure the ISP static settings on the DHCP Server portion of the Server PC? We may be getting a new ISP with a dynamic address OR a new static address.

WHAT I'VE TRIED: I've tried configuring the IP address on the Server PC the way I would via the NIC adapter settings but it already has a internal IP address from the DHCP Server running on that PC so changing that was no good. I guess what I'm basically looking for is a screen like this (I hope you're familiar with the configuration pages of Linksys Routers)
http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Cl...etupScreen.jpg