Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Routing traffic through different ISPs

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 12 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
29-Jul-2012, 01:05 PM #1
Routing traffic through different ISPs
It's been a long time since I've been on the forums (I'm the Senior Technician at work and log over 50 hours a week) so bare with me. Also despite what I do for a living I have little experience in this area and am looking to learn more about it, so any help would be appreciated.

I live in an area with limited internet access. I am grandfathered into Sprints unlimited 3G data plan with their air card and I am paying for Verizon's 10GB limited 4G connection. With 13 devices that connect to the internet I hit my limit within the first week of the month. What I want to do is setup some kind of proxy server that will route specific devices, such as my DVRs, (easy) and applications, such as games, (a little harder) through the 3G while allowing other traffic through the 4G.

I figure the server will run the 3G modem with my Cradlepoint MBR95 router running the 4G. What would be the best way of setting this up?
zx10guy has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 4,073 posts.

30-Jul-2012, 09:48 AM #2
Yes. It's rather easy. Since the Cradlepoint and the server running the 3G modem will have different IP addresses, all you have to do is for any device you want to only use the Cradlepoint, configure those devices to have their default gateway to be the Cradlepoint. Same goes with the 3G modem/server.
Computer Specs
Member with 12 posts.

30-Jul-2012, 08:13 PM #3
That will cover my DVRs and blueray players, but I was wondering about setting up a server that would route specific ports\applications. So that one PC will have Netflix routed to the unlimited 3G and games to the faster 4G.