Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

File Sharing wont stay on

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 5 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
10-Oct-2012, 11:58 AM #1
File Sharing wont stay on
I've recently had an issue where when I turn on File and Printer Sharing, and click apply, I go straight back to the advanced setting menu and its switched back to off despite me changing it.

I cheked my services menu and I'm not sure what file and printer sharing has a dependancy on, but Workstation, Netlogon, and Computer Browser will not turn on with the error "windows could not start *** service on the local computer. Error 1068: The dependency service or group failed to start"

I network printers and servers for a living, so this is an issue when I'm troubleshooting problems.

I cant really name everything thats been installed on this laptop, it changes pretty consistently, but no programs should have interfered with my network.

Thanks for any help
Computer Specs
Moderator with 65,731 posts.

10-Oct-2012, 12:47 PM #2
What's the "***" service? If it's a three-letter word that got caught by the automatic sensor put spaces between the letters.

Have you tried to determine the dependency that failed to start? (Double click on the service to open the Properties and then look on the Dependencies tab to see upon what the service depends.)
Computer Specs
Member with 5 posts.

11-Oct-2012, 09:42 AM #3
No, *** is what i put in place of all the various services i listed wouldn't start, it wasn't something blocked.

I figure its because the workstation wont start, or the dependancies of the other ones suggest so. The dependancies for Workstation are these:

Browser Support Driver
Network Store Interface Service
SMB 1.x MiniRedirector
SMB 2.0 MiniRedirector.

None of those are listed in my services at all.
Computer Specs