Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How to fix wired internet connection problems?

(!)

Member with 3 posts.

08-Sep-2013, 08:59 AM #1
How to fix wired internet connection problems?
I am a UK student living in student halls in France. I arrived a week and a half ago and I've had problems with the internet ever since I arrived. The connection here is via an ethernet cable.

When I arrived I had no internet but the office assured me this was due to routine maintenance. After a couple of days I went back and asked if I could try another cable. I tried this new cable but to no avail.

Therefore it seemed it was my computer that was the problem because everyone else in the building seemed to have a normal connection. To test this I invited a fellow student to plug the cable into their computer. As with me, their computer received no internet connection.

So I assumed it must be a problem with the connection in the room. I have called twice and the office has called on my behalf once to call out a technician but I cannot be sure if anyone has come to try to fix it.

What is interesting is that approximately 4 days ago, I did in fact get a connection to the internet via the cable which lasted about an hour before going again. The next day, I got another connection this time for about 30 minutes before stopping. The day after I had no connection all day and then yesterday I had a connection for about 5 hours until it went again. This morning I have woken to find no connection again. A couple of days ago I asked to try a 3rd cable just in case but the situation has remained the same: no internet connection!