Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Missing "Wireless Network Connection" icon...

(!)

Junior Member with 10 posts.

Experience: Beginner
19-Jul-2004, 10:17 PM #1
Angry Missing "Wireless Network Connection" icon...
Hi all,

I hope someone can help me. I am a newbie at networking. I am trying to set up basic wireless networking in Windows XP Home Edition. I have followed instructions to set up the network. The instructions tell me to go to "Control Panel" and click on "Network Connections". Then from there it tells me to right click on the "Wireless Network Connection" icon and select "Properties".

The big problem is that I do not have a "Wireless Network Connection" icon at all (see attached). How do I get the "Wireless Network Connection" icon to appear in my "Network Connections" dialog box/window?? I have tried looking everywhere but can not find a way to activate this icon.

My computer is a Hewlett Packard home PC. I have successfully installed a 4port Netgear router and have also successfully connected a Netgear wireless "g" access point to this router. From all indication, all the hardware is working fine and I am able to connect to the internet via the router. I wonder if the Netgear wireless access point has somehow disable my "Wireless Network Connection" icon.

Sorry for the rambling but I would really appreciate any suggestions at this point. It's been frustrating.

Thank you,
Tony.
Attached Thumbnails
Missing "Wireless Network Connection" icon...-network-connections.jpg  
Member with 759 posts.

19-Jul-2004, 10:31 PM #2
It would appear after installing a wireless card in the machine.
Member with 323 posts.

20-Jul-2004, 06:42 AM #3
I have the same problem---attempts to solve it have been fruitless---

20-Jul-2004, 06:57 AM #4