Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How to hook up 2 computers to cable modem?

(!)

Member with 717 posts.

24-Jan-2005, 05:31 PM #1
How to hook up 2 computers to cable modem?
I am new to this so please bear with me. I have one computer and 1 cable modem. Currently my computer is hooked up through the USB port on the modem. I want to get a second computer for my household, so I checked online with my cable service to see if I can connect two computers to my modem and it says you can hook up 2 computers through a home network, but they do not provide tech support for home networking so I need to check through there. So that didn't answer my question on how do I do it, and I have no clue on how to set up a home network. I basically want another computer that can access the internet at the same time and do word processing functions. I wanted to know if I have to pay an additional service fee to my cable company and purchase another modem, or does the second computer somehow get connected to the main computer. There is an empty ethernet connection on the modem, but it says not to connect both the Ethernet and USB cable to the PC, or can you connect the second computer here? Thanks for any help on to do this.
Member with 717 posts.

24-Jan-2005, 06:09 PM #2
My computer info...
My current computer:
Intel Pentium III
Windows 98 SE
256 MB RAM

The new computer, since I haven't purchased it yet, will probably have:
Windows XP
Intel Pentium 4
512 MB RAM
bosshogg151 bosshogg151 is offline bosshogg151 has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 553 posts.

Experience: Always Learning.........
24-Jan-2005, 06:10 PM #3