Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Why do I have to reboot to connect to DSL

(!)

Member with 40 posts.

27-Aug-2005, 01:35 PM #1
Why do I have to reboot to connect to DSL
I recently did a clean install of XP Home. My Bellsouth DSL service is up and running just fine, but if I'm not online for an hour or so, I'm unable to reconnect to the internet. I have to restart Windows to get back on.

I have done full system scans with AVG anitvirus, Ad-Aware, and Spybot. No spyware or viruses found. I'm not running the Bellsouth Connection Manager software because it causes more problems than it solves. Before my XP install, I had been running without Bellsouth's software for two years with no problem (under Windows ME). I have no problem with my service now, except for having to reboot after a period of inactivity.

I had been advised by another Bellsouth user to set my modem (an ethernet, Westell Wirespeed), to "always on." I tried this, but I still loose the connection. Any ideas?
Computer Specs
Retired Moderator with 106,412 posts.

27-Aug-2005, 01:45 PM #2
Perhaps you should stick a router in the middle.

Nothing comes to mine for you to check, it's odd that you'd have to reboot.

The next time it's disconnected, try this:

Open a command prompt and type:

IPCONFIG /RELEASE

IPCONFIG /RENEW

See if that brings it back to life.
Member with 40 posts.

27-Aug-2005, 02:19 PM #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWill

The next time it's disconnected, try this:

IPCONFIG /RELEASE

IPCONFIG /RENEW

Thanks, I'll try that. Now I just have to wait for it to disconnect.
Retired Administrator with 103,708 posts.

Experience: Advanced
27-Aug-2005, 02:21 PM #4
I'm not that familiar with DSL, but could it possibly have anything to do with incoming calls?

If that is a stupid question, please disregard this post