Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Windows cannot start the Windows Firewall/ICS service

(!)

Junior Member with 5 posts.

Experience: so so
12-Oct-2005, 01:48 AM #1
Solved: Windows cannot start the Windows Firewall/ICS service
im kind of new at trying to figure things out like this but i am some what formilar with computers but this is what i get:
When I go to the "Wireless Network Connection 2" Properties, and click on the "Advanced" tab then click on Windows Firewall "Settings" button, I get a message that says: "Windows Firewall settings cannot be displayed because the associated service is not running. Do you want to start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service?" I click "Yes." Then I get a message that "Windows cannot start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Services (ICS) service." I tried doing the Network Setup Wizard, and everything appears fine then.

i dont really have any clue if i can be fixed but im hoping that someone can help me please!!!
surveyranger surveyranger is offline surveyranger has a Profile Picture
Member with 249 posts.

Experience: learning more everyday
12-Oct-2005, 02:33 AM #2
goto 'administrative tools' in the control panel. click 'services', then scroll down to 'Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)'. what does it say to the right of it?
now double-click it. a window should pop up with different tabs. if you are not sure what the settings are, then don't change any and ask first. it should say it's startup type= automatic and service type=started. also, look under the dependencies tab for the dependent services and make sure they're started as well. also, under the recovery tab, change the failure options to 'restart the service'

hope that helps ya
Senior Member with 296 posts.

Experience: Advanced
12-Oct-2005, 03:24 AM #3