Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

wireless connection problem: missing WPA-PSK from data encryption list

(!)

Junior Member with 14 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
04-Jan-2006, 11:07 PM #1
wireless connection problem: missing WPA-PSK from data encryption list
Hello-I am new to the world of wireless networking and have discovered that it's not quite as simple as it appears to be. Here is my question:

I have an IBM T-40 laptop running Windows XP Pro SP2. It is my work laptop and I am trying to connect to my wireless network at home so I can do the telecommuting thing. The IBM sees my home network's SSID with no problem. However, when I try to go in and set the key to get onto the network, I only have Open and WEP as choices for data encryption. My Linksys router is set to WPA-PSK. However, this type of data encryption does not appear in the drop down box under Wireless Network Properties, and so I cannot connect at all.

I checked the settings on my other laptop (running XP Home) and a friend at work's laptop (running XP Pro SP2) and both of them had WPA-PSK available as an option.

I guess my question is: how can I get this type of data encryption software onto my laptop? Has Microsoft published any types of patches or is there some place within Windows where I can enable this? Any help is appreciated.

Regards,

P

Update: my wireless network adapter was running an old version of its driver. After updating the driver, the list of data encryption types on the wireless connection property sheet included WPA-PSK and others that weren't there before.

Last edited by peregrine123; 05-Jan-2006 at 09:47 AM.. Reason: problem is solved
Computer Specs
Member with 7,213 posts.

Experience: Advanced
05-Jan-2006, 09:57 AM #2