Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How do I install software on a server so everyone can use it ?

(!)

tomwi11is tomwi11is is offline tomwi11is has a Profile Picture
Member with 105 posts.

Experience: Advanced
11-Jan-2007, 05:37 PM #1
How do I install software on a server so everyone can use it ?
At work, I have to make sure everyone is able to access and use this piece of software, it is called Alpha Law Vantage, but it doesnt really matter what it is. For this example lets say it is Microsoft Word. Could anyone tell me how I would go about installing Microsoft Word onto a server so that eveyone that is connected to the network can use it ? I really need some help guys, please help me out. P.S I am a computer engineer, so I know alot about computers, just not much about servers, so I should be able to understand you, so any expert help would be greatly appriatiated.

Thanks.

Last edited by tomwi11is; 11-Jan-2007 at 05:46 PM..
Member with 22,468 posts.

11-Jan-2007, 06:53 PM #2
Typically programs like Word need to be installed on each computer.

As far as Alpha Law Vantage, you would need to check with the manufacturer of the software to see if can be installed the way you want or not. They would know best.
tomwi11is tomwi11is is offline tomwi11is has a Profile Picture
Member with 105 posts.

Experience: Advanced
11-Jan-2007, 06:57 PM #3
Thanks for the reply. I understand that Word would have to be installed on each machine, but isnt there a way of installing it on the server so that everyone can access the files that are used by the software, say word from the server rather than locally on their own C Drives ? I thought you could create a group policy or something that would allow the software to be installed on everyone's computer who is in that group ? Does anyone know how to do this ?
Computer Specs