Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

ipconfig release and renew

(!)

Member with 90 posts.

Experience: Beginner
23-Apr-2007, 09:25 AM #1
ipconfig release and renew
Hi, I'm new in using ipconfig, having problem about the command. I go to command prompt then type the ipconfig /release to release my ip then an error appear "The requested operation requires elevation." I tried to retype it again same error then what I did was to enter with the adapter name like this ipconfig /release leinan connection a new error appear like this "Error: unrecognized or incomplete command line." What should I do to get a new IP? My DSL provider says that I'll just use the ipconfig command to release/renew my IP, they just giving me a hard time not helping that they suppose to do, the DHCP is enabled. Can anyone help me and teach me the proper way. I'm using Vista didn't alter the default network configuration upon installing Vista. Thanks.
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 358 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
23-Apr-2007, 12:42 PM #2
Vista does not handle permissions the same as XP.
Locate the command prompt short cut in your start menu. Right click it, choose run as administrator, then try the ipconfig again. it should work

If you want to always have the command prompt run with elevation
Right-click the command prompt icon, choose Properties
Select the Shortcut tab
Click on Advanced
Check Run as administrator
Member with 90 posts.

24-Apr-2007, 06:39 AM #3
Thanks Papermoon for the info, but when I tried to release then renew my IP it still uses the same IP. I thought the option renew is to have a new IP, btw I have a standalone pc. Can you help me. Thanks again.
Computer Specs
Moderator with 52,565 posts.

24-Apr-2007, 06:55 AM #4
the option is to renew the IP - does not mean you get a different number