Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Port forwarding in Cisco router

(!)

Junior Member with 12 posts.

04-Nov-2009, 02:41 PM #1
Port forwarding in Cisco router
Hi all. I have very little experience with Cisco routers and was hoping to get some help. I'm trying to setup TightVNC for a client to use to remotely access their work computer. I have installed the "server" TightVNC module one the work system and the "Viewer" module on the remote system. I've checked and double checked TightVNC setup parameters and have found it needs ports 5800 & 5900 open (by default).
Here's the stickler. They have a Netopia router. I found no model number on the unit. The SN is 32646660.
I can access the routers internal IP address and I get a web based app called Cisco ADM 5.2(3). Device type: ASA5505,
ASA version: 7.2(3).
In the device, I went to the "Security" tab and added ports 5800, 5900 as "allowed" from interface "all" to interface "all".
Then I went to port forwarding and specified for port 5800 TCP, incoming from WAN IP to forward to 192.168.1.50 which is the static IP address of the work system. Same setup with port 5900.
I made sure both port numbers are open in firewalls on both computers.
I can't get the remote machine to connect to the server.
When I run a port test on the WAN address of the router, it shows the ports are still closed.
Can anyone give me very explicit instructions for exactly how to setup the Cisco router to allow this?

Thank you in advance!
Marty
zx10guy has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 4,002 posts.

04-Nov-2009, 03:13 PM #2