Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Wifi suddenly stopped working, wont connect wirelessly, but ethernet works

(!)

Junior Member with 5 posts.

07-Dec-2009, 03:17 PM #1
Exclamation Solved: Wifi suddenly stopped working, wont connect wirelessly, but ethernet works
I have a Dell Studio 17 with Vista and Wifi capability. I've had the computer for a year and a half, and I've never had a major problem with wireless connection before. Any problem has been purely because of a low connection strength or because I was in a classroom (I'm a college student) in which multiple people were trying to connect at once. Eventually it always worked.

I was home for the weekend and connected to my primary wireless connection and all of a sudden I lost connection and could not reconnect.

I tried restarting and shutting off both the computer and wireless router. I tried resetting the wireless router. I tried turning on and off the Wifi button on my computer. Still cannot connect.

I plugged in an ethernet cable into my internet directly from the router and it runs fine (that is how I am on the internet on my laptop at the moment).

I will not always have access to an ethernet cable when I go back to school later today and I have a project I need to research so I'm kind of in a rush to get this figured out. Also it's just so much easier connecting wireless and obviously I'd like this fixed.

Anyway, I read up on other people's similar problem and I don't know if I changed something or messed up, but now whenever i click to view Wireless Connections the router for my house has a red x next to it and says "The settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network."