Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Internet slowing down over time

(!)

Junior Member with 4 posts.

07-Oct-2010, 12:35 PM #1
Question Internet slowing down over time
Hey guys i rly need some help with my internet problem and i found out this site while google-ing for solutions...Hope u can help me cuz im not that good at fixing stuff like that...

Ok, so my internet connection slows down over time... Everytime i restart my -computer- though, it returns back to its normal speed (restarting the -router- gives no result) . But after about 10-20 minutes or so, the same problem appears...It slows down to the point where it opens a page for 3-4 minutes or so...I dont know what to do anymore, i checked the cables, ran anti-virus programs, defragmented my drives, ran a registry cleaner and so on...I also noticed that my download speed seems not to be affected by this.Also im receiving a huge amount of packets, and not sending as much...When i didnt have this problem, the sent/received would be close to each other as a number...

Im running Windows 7 on an HP compaq 6715s notebook . The notebook is connected to an indoor Thomson router .

Any help or tips would be appreciated Thanks in advance
Computer Specs
Junior Member with 23 posts.

Experience: Advanced
07-Oct-2010, 12:47 PM #2
www.speedtest.net
Give us some numbers, running the test after you reboot the computer and after 10-20 minutes.
Send/receive numbers they are not close to each other. Usually for residential areas ADSL (broadband) is used. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asymmet...ubscriber_Line. The download is way bigger than upload. For example the send bit is something like 256-512k/s and the download is something between 2-8-10 or more MB.

07-Oct-2010, 01:46 PM #3
This is the result after it slows down (10-20 mins as stated above) -