Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Embarq 660 Series ADSL Modem/Router not connecting with my AT&T Fast Access DSL

(!)

Computer Specs
Junior Member with 6 posts.

Experience: Beginner
08-Nov-2010, 03:39 PM #1
Unhappy Embarq 660 Series ADSL Modem/Router not connecting with my AT&T Fast Access DSL
Hi there,

I am a total beginner with all of this, but I'm hoping I can learn how to hook up this Embarq 660 series modem/router so that it works with new ISP (AT&T). I have a macbook pro and I'm running OS 10.6.4.

When I connect the Embarq 660 modem/router to my cpu, only 3 of the 4 lights of the router come on. The light that says "Internet" never lights up. So, I can't connect to the internet to even attempt to change the router. I'm hoping there is something that I can do to avoid having to spend $75-$100 on a new modem/gateway from AT&T.

I know that Embarq was using DHCP and AT&T is using PPPoE. When I use the Network option in my System Prefs, and use the Setup Assistant, as long as the ethernet connection is set to DHCP, the ethernet light is on. If I try to change it to PPPoE, it can't connect with the username and password given to me by AT&T. I have no idea what is going on with that...

Oh yea, I tried all of the things that I've read online so far about bridging the Embarq 660, but I think my problem may lie in the fact that the internet light doesn't come on at all. When i type in 192.168.2.1 in Safari/Chrome, it just tells me that I'm not connected to the internet. So I can't even reset the modem that way. I've done the holding the reset button for a minute, and also resetting and leaving the modem alone for a few hours. Still, no "Internet" light coming on. The modem was working fine just a week ago and travelled in safety to my new apartment.