Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Networking Networking
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Home pre-wired with Cat5. Need help with setup.

(!)

Junior Member with 6 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
18-Feb-2011, 11:24 AM #1
Home pre-wired with Cat5. Need help with setup.
My house has Cat5 cable running to every room. Basically, instead of regular phone lines, it looks like they used Cat5. Some rooms have regular rj11 jacks, others have rj45 jacks.
I have a box in the master closet where all the wires are connected to a punch down panel. Luckily, they labeled them for me.
See image here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/59639796@N02/5456267942/

I would like to use some of those Cat5 phone lines for a LAN. As I understand it I need to:
1) Disconnect the Cat5 cables from the punch down panel and install the rj45 clips on them.
2) Plug the newly created rj45 cables into a switch.
3) Install my cable modem in this box and plug it into the switch, too.

Does this sound correct?

One question... where should I put my wireless router? Can I just plug it into one of the rj45 wall ports that I added to the LAN? I don't want it in my master closet b/c that seems too far away to get a good signal for my laptops.
Computer Specs
Member with 220 posts.

Experience: Advanced
18-Feb-2011, 04:28 PM #2
That punch down panel is for a phone system. What businesses tend to do is use cat5 cable, and split up the pairs (each pair can be used for a single phone line, so you get 4 phone lines out of a single cable). What do the termination jacks look like? Depending on how it was wired up, you might be able to terminate the ends into a switch in the closet, and swap out the wall jacks for RJ-45 face plates. If that's the case, you can pick that stuff up pretty cheap on monoprice. Most likely, they had some sort of IP phone system, and the wiring for it is what you've been left with.