Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Random Discussion Random Discussion
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Why do otherwise "technical" people not understand computers?

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 2,513 posts.

Experience: Advanced
18-Aug-2012, 01:53 PM #1
Why do otherwise "technical" people not understand computers?
Because I understand how computers and software work (am self-taught and had my first computer in 1984), I've become one of the unfortunate people who have, over time, come to be the "tech support" for my family and a lot of friends. I have observed something about some of these friends that confounds me: They are technically trained -- chemical, mechanical, electrical engineers -- but cannot grasp the concepts or the workings involved with a computer. They have great difficulty installing and then configuring the preferences for any software. I get calls like "How can I attach a file to an e-mail?" When I try to show them how to do something, they want to write down every keystroke, put it on a post-it and stick it to their monitor so they can do it the next time. Their monitor frames are lined end-to-end with post-its. IOW, they must follow keystroke-by-keystroke instructions every time instead of grasping the concept of what they're doing.

Why does a person who understands entropy and enthalpy, or how to build a bridge or chemical plant, not understand a computer beyond how to turn it on?
pyritechips has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Member with 26,276 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
18-Aug-2012, 02:09 PM #2