There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
access audio avg avg 8 bios blue screen boot bsod computer connection cpu crash css dell desktop dma driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze gimp graphics hard drive hardware hijackthis hjt install internet internet explorer itunes keyboard laptop macro malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook 2007 outlook express pio problem problems router seo server slow sound sp3 spyware trojan usb video virtumonde virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless
Reviews
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > General Technology > Reviews >
Is this Stuff really free


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
smeegle's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,388 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Experience: Beginner
29-Jun-2005, 03:07 PM #1
Question Is this Stuff really free
Has anyone heard of the get it free website? A couple of weeks ago I noticed that it was offering a free copy of Norton 2005. This week it is offering access to Linux 9.1 for free. This is the site www.getitfree.net
I'm enclosing it for information purposes only. Does anyone have any feedback on this?
HenryVI's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,203 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2005
Experience: Desktop Themer
29-Jun-2005, 03:25 PM #2
I doubt it, nothing in life is free......and there is no "Linux 9.1", and Norton is like 50 dollars
Cerviperus's Avatar
Senior Member with 110 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Experience: It's my job... and I like it!
29-Jun-2005, 03:34 PM #3
As soon as I try to go there, I'm instantly re-directed to the following link:
http://www.everyfreegift.com/landing...65673&cid=2000

The site that loads instantly asks for an e-mail address. I used a "jetable" e-mail address to keep from getting spammed, so I'll report back on what I find out. As soon as it took the address, it brought me to another page asking right away for a shipping addresss - no info, terms, nothing. I just did a quick Google search and didn't find anything about it, other than a brief (incomplete) description that stated the following:
Copyright © 2004. EveryFreeGift.com. All Rights Reserved. *To receive your gift, you must complete a sponsored offer. Upon reported completion, you will be ..

I can't say for sure that it's a scam... but I know I'm not giving them any information.
__________________
Download and install the following 4 programs (all 100% free):
SpywareBlaster
Spybot Search & Destroy
Ad-Aware SE
Spyware Guard
HenryVI's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,203 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2005
Experience: Desktop Themer
29-Jun-2005, 03:36 PM #4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerviperus
I can't say for sure that it's a scam... but I know I'm not giving them any information.
Tha's why I stay away from those sites however tempting they may be.
edbro9's Avatar
Senior Member with 179 posts.
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Experience: Not as smart as I think
29-Jun-2005, 03:51 PM #5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerviperus
*To receive your gift, you must complete a sponsored offer. Upon reported completion, you will be ..[/i]
See, there's the catch! You must sign up for a bunch of stuff like the CD of the month club, etc.

There's no such thing as a free lunch.
smeegle's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,388 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Experience: Beginner
29-Jun-2005, 04:13 PM #6
Thanks for the reviews, guys. It reminds me of something that Acacandy said once, "If it's free why does it cost so much?"
HenryVI's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,203 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2005
Experience: Desktop Themer
29-Jun-2005, 04:14 PM #7
Lololololo, great qoute!!

Add it to your sig, with Acacandy as the author of course...
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 51,496 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacramento
Experience: Having fun
29-Jun-2005, 06:39 PM #8
Got to be a bad site because my Hosts file blocks the site so I would say away from it.

He hee I got a FREE Computer I will gave away to anyone that wants it.
Just get 10 other people to send me $100.00 each and the FREE Computer is yours.

Yes it is free once you get 10 other suckers that are not very smart to send me money.

Don't forget to read the find print on the rules you most go by.
Attached Thumbnails
stuff-really-free-find-print.jpg  
__________________
Donating to TSG helps to keep the site going so please do your part and help.

Keep Your Security Software Current
Calendar of Updates

Work like you don't need the money.
Love like you've never been hurt.
Dance like nobody's watching.
Sing like nobody's listening.
quote from Satchel Paige

My Pictures
somefellow's Avatar
Senior Member with 435 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
29-Jun-2005, 07:20 PM #9
actually alot of it is free if you go to the correct site . FAT WALLET is one of the best for you americans to order free stuff , coupons , deals.remember to use a " throw-away " e-mail address and never give your phone # or real name ....i`ve gotten boxes of stuff over time including : t-shirts , hats , posters , mouse pads , software , pens-pencils, dog food ( about 6 -5lb bags ) , books , magazines , gum,breath mints, make-up,autographs,touqes ,key-chains,yearly organizers , cold hard cash , ear-phones , calendars,dish-soap,and much more ............and you guys have a lot more giveaways .
__________________
Friends don`t let friends drink and take home ugly women.

Need spyware help ?
Big-K's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 6,883 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kansas
Experience: Advanced
30-Jun-2005, 03:28 PM #10
I must say, I've never heard of linux brand linux.
SIR****TMG's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 25,094 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FOREST ,OHIO
Experience: Learning Every Day
30-Jun-2005, 05:18 PM #11
hewee....got your email thats says i won......great i'm the winner.............when will you be mailing it to me ?????? after reading the real fine print i want the cash instead of the pc.............SIR****TMG is the WINNER.....
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 51,496 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacramento
Experience: Having fun
01-Jul-2005, 04:36 AM #12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIR****TMG
hewee....got your email thats says i won......great i'm the winner.............when will you be mailing it to me ?????? after reading the real fine print i want the cash instead of the pc.............SIR****TMG is the WINNER.....
Well where are the 10 people with the $100.00 that are giving me the money so you can win the Free PC?

Hope you seen that is you take the cash value it will not be over $350.00.
Sorry but it is a cheap PC to start with.
__________________
Donating to TSG helps to keep the site going so please do your part and help.

Keep Your Security Software Current
Calendar of Updates

Work like you don't need the money.
Love like you've never been hurt.
Dance like nobody's watching.
Sing like nobody's listening.
quote from Satchel Paige

My Pictures
SIR****TMG's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 25,094 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FOREST ,OHIO
Experience: Learning Every Day
01-Jul-2005, 07:25 AM #13
HA HA.........ok i see..hewee says that he's cheap.......ok..........what a FREE PC........I guess not everything is FREE............HA HA ................live and learn.............yes real life is this way ,always somebody trying to RIP you off.....so as hewee and myself have showed you here ....Things sure are not FREE.........Beware.........the offer may look good and seem to hard to believe...well most of the time it is............
__________________
Programs I use: Spy Sweeper 5.8, Avg Anti-Spyware 7.5, SuperAntiSpyware Pro , WinPatrol Plus , NIS 2008, MBAM Pro, TURBO Road Runner Cablevision
Rockn's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 17,888 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mexico of the North, MN
Experience: Disenfranchised American Male
01-Jul-2005, 05:04 PM #14
Yes it is free, and I have some magic beans for sale!!
SIR****TMG's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 25,094 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: FOREST ,OHIO
Experience: Learning Every Day
01-Jul-2005, 05:19 PM #15
hewee, will buy some magic beans............................
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.