There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
access audio avg avg 8 bios blue screen boot bsod computer connection cpu crash css dell desktop dma driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze gimp graphics hard drive hardware hijackthis hjt install internet internet explorer itunes keyboard laptop macro malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook 2007 outlook express pio problem problems router seo server slow sound sp3 spyware trojan usb video virtumonde virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless
Reviews
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > General Technology > Reviews >
Too good to be true?


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
Skivvywaver's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 14,073 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Behind my wall
Experience: WTH???
20-Jun-2006, 12:36 PM #1
Too good to be true?
I stumbled on this site http://www.edirectsoftware.com/produ...y.php?catID=71 by accidently clicking an advertisment on a webpage.

It sounds legal, it looks legal, but is it legal??
Shamou's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 9,525 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Quebec Canada
Experience: Beginner
20-Jun-2006, 01:05 PM #2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skivvywaver
I stumbled on this site http://www.edirectsoftware.com/produ...y.php?catID=71 by accidently clicking an advertisment on a webpage.

It sounds legal, it looks legal, but is it legal??
...all kinds of info here... http://www.google.ca/search?q=1-866-...ew=1&sa=Search
happyrck's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,200 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Experience: Advanced
20-Jun-2006, 01:08 PM #3
as long as you get the hologram CD with the KEY and COA sticker...they are legit...I use them all the time on new builds....they are OEM and you or whoever you build the computer wont have any MS support installing the OS unless you want to pay their $35.00 fee
__________________
Hardware.. The parts of a computer system that can be kicked
Software..The parts of a computer system that you can only swear at
Rockn's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 17,888 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mexico of the North, MN
Experience: Disenfranchised American Male
21-Jun-2006, 06:22 PM #4
Errtt....wrong! There are counterfeit COAs and CD-KEYs as well.

OEM normally entails purchasing related hardware like a hard drive with the OS if they are legit OEMs
win2kpro's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 6,636 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southeast
Experience: OEM Builder and Repair
22-Jun-2006, 08:22 AM #5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockn
OEM normally entails purchasing related hardware like a hard drive with the OS if they are legit OEMs
I see a number of websites that still state that to purchase an OEM disk that you need to purchase a non-peripheral piece of hardware. Microsoft abolished this requirement in August 2005 for single pack OEM OS's. It was never a requirement for purchase of 3 or 30 pack disks.

This may be a rule that a particular vendor has for the purchase but it is no longer a Microsoft requirement.
__________________
Registered Microsoft® OEM Partner.

4 words a technician doesn't want to hear; "My friend told me"

PLEASE, NO PM's. PLEASE ASK ANY QUESTIONS IN YOUR THREAD. THANK YOU!

I will never understand why people spend a few hundred dollars on a video card or cards, then try to run their machine on a $30 power supply.

Don't be fooled by Power Supply Manufactures numbers. Advertised watts don't mean squat!
win2kpro's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 6,636 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southeast
Experience: OEM Builder and Repair
22-Jun-2006, 08:28 AM #6
RE: eDirectSoftware;

Microsoft Files Lawsuit Against Billings Company Alleging Distribution of Infringing Software

As part of Microsoft Corp.'s commitment to honest and legitimate resellers in the channel, the company filed a lawsuit against eDirectSoftware of Billings, Montana and Sherwood Park, Alberta. It alleges violations of copyright and trademark laws, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and the Anti-Counterfeiting Amendments Act. These alleged violations are based on eDirectSoftware's repeated distribution of counterfeit software, tampered software and components, and illegal product keys paired with unlicensed software not intended for resale. Volume license keys or other keys that allow activation or bypass activation are for the sole use of the company licensed under a volume licensing agreement and cannot be sold or passed on to other parties that are not covered by those agreements. Keys generated by a "key gen" tool are illegal under any circumstances and should not be used or distributed.

Filed in the U.S. District Court for the District of Montana:

Microsoft Corp. v. eDirectSoftware of Billings, Montana, alleging violations of copyright and trademark laws, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act and the Anti-Counterfeiting Amendments Act
(Case No. CV-06-53-BLG-RFC)
__________________
Registered Microsoft® OEM Partner.

4 words a technician doesn't want to hear; "My friend told me"

PLEASE, NO PM's. PLEASE ASK ANY QUESTIONS IN YOUR THREAD. THANK YOU!

I will never understand why people spend a few hundred dollars on a video card or cards, then try to run their machine on a $30 power supply.

Don't be fooled by Power Supply Manufactures numbers. Advertised watts don't mean squat!
happyrck's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 3,200 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Experience: Advanced
22-Jun-2006, 12:09 PM #7
yeah...they do require you to butyhardware with it..I usually get a power splitter (Y) about $1.50.,..and your good to go
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.