There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
access audio avg avg 8 bios blue screen boot bsod computer connection cpu crash css dell desktop dma driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze gimp graphics hard drive hardware hijackthis hjt install internet internet explorer itunes keyboard laptop macro malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook 2007 outlook express pio problem problems router seo server slow sound sp3 spyware trojan usb video virtumonde virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless
Site Comments & Suggestions
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Community > Site Comments & Suggestions >
CentrPort ...?!


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
O_and_O's Avatar
Member with 47 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ... in a land down under.
20-Aug-2003, 02:28 PM #1
CentrPort ...?!
........Edit........
Deleted the content of this post
Refer to ... http://forums.techguy.org/showthread...14#post1115014

Last edited by O_and_O : 13-Sep-2003 03:01 AM.
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,448 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
20-Aug-2003, 03:11 PM #2
Be a little more specific... how might that site jeapardize your membership?
Rhettman5.1's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,700 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Waverly WA...pop.103:)
20-Aug-2003, 09:05 PM #3
I don't get anything from that link...spybot blocks it, so ...what up ??
angelize56's Avatar
Always remembered in our hearts with 82,268 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Goddess of Random/Resident Angel
Experience: Learning it all here!
21-Aug-2003, 12:45 AM #4
Centrport.net Spyware Cookie

Summary: A spyware cookie. Cookie is used to track unique visitors to many different sites, and their "preferences."

Category: Spyware/Trackware.

Information Collected: May collect info on Referrers (HTTP Referrers, Top-level Domains, Search Engines, Keywords, Quality Index, Frequency Index, Newsgroup Referrers, and E-mail Referrers), Visitor statistics (Major ISPs, Hostnames, Browsers, OSes, Countries, Timezones, Plug-Ins, Screens, Colors, Java, and JavaScript), and more.

Privacy Policy: http://www.centrport.com/aboutUs/abo...=privacyPolicy
__________________
June 18, 2007: My niece Christi had her baby GIRL! 10:15 a.m.....Emily Debra....7 Lbs. 10 Ozs....21" in length. She has a little dark hair...moves her lips and mouth so sweetly...has pretty petite features...thank you God!!
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,448 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
21-Aug-2003, 01:35 AM #5
So he just needs to run SpyBot or something similar?
angelize56's Avatar
Always remembered in our hearts with 82,268 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Goddess of Random/Resident Angel
Experience: Learning it all here!
21-Aug-2003, 02:14 AM #6
Mike: SpyBot always gives me a popup to avoid downloading centrport...so it sure seems it would be covered if spybot was run. You can't even read how to get the opt out code without downloading centrport! But since O_O already has centrport he can go here on how to receive the opt out:

www.centrport.com/aboutus/privacypolicy.html

Take care! angel
__________________
June 18, 2007: My niece Christi had her baby GIRL! 10:15 a.m.....Emily Debra....7 Lbs. 10 Ozs....21" in length. She has a little dark hair...moves her lips and mouth so sweetly...has pretty petite features...thank you God!!
angelize56's Avatar
Always remembered in our hearts with 82,268 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Goddess of Random/Resident Angel
Experience: Learning it all here!
21-Aug-2003, 02:19 AM #7
O-and O: Ok...go here:

http://www.centrport.com/aboutus/privacypolicy.html#

Scroll down "click here to opt out" and it opts you out of centrport.

I can see no where that it would put TSG at risk.

Take care. angel
angelize56's Avatar
Always remembered in our hearts with 82,268 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Goddess of Random/Resident Angel
Experience: Learning it all here!
21-Aug-2003, 03:32 AM #8
Thanks for the link...it was really interesting reading! Never heard of web bugs before! Gee...nosey advertisers! Take care. angel
shortnpretty's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 2,644 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Central Arkansas
Experience: Enough to be dangerous
21-Aug-2003, 09:49 AM #9
Angel? Would you consider giving me lessons on how to research? You are THE EXPERT, I'm thinking....
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,448 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
21-Aug-2003, 09:50 AM #10
Quote:
Originally posted by O_and_O:
Has TSG applied for their services or am I a "unique visitor"?

I've never heard of them, so I certainly don't think so... Sounds to me like you just need to get their software off your computer?
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.