There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
acer black screen boot bsod computer connection crash css dell display driver drivers email error ethernet excel explorer firefox firefox 3 game hard drive internet internet explorer itunes laptop linux malware monitor network networking nvidia outlook outlook 2003 outlook express partition password printer problem router slow software sound trojan usb video virus vista windows windows xp wireless
Site Comments & Suggestions
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Community > Site Comments & Suggestions >
are other websites copying content from these forums???


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
4ndr3wk's Avatar
Computer Specs
Member with 59 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Experience: Intermediate
23-Aug-2007, 08:38 PM #1
Exclamation are other websites copying content from these forums???
ok, so i was looking around the net earlier (as you do) lol

and i found this

http://megatopforum.com/topic563.html

and thought hmm thats strange i remember posting that, and it has my sig (4ndr3wk) at the bottom and i had asked that question (it was pretty posible, my username is pretty unique), but not there, but here instead.

then i found this aswell

http://www.totalmasala.com/news/2533...tart-menu.html

original post is here:

http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vi...tart-menu.html

are these just spambots? forums trying to look popular?

btw im sorry if this is in the wrong forum, i just didnt know which one to put it in! move it if necessary.

4ndr3wk
brendandonhu's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 15,988 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Experience: Advanced
23-Aug-2007, 09:28 PM #2
Yes, they copy real forums to get listed in search engines, and then fill the page up with their own ads.
telecom69's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 8,279 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Midlands (UK)
Experience: Intermediate
23-Aug-2007, 09:49 PM #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4ndr3wk
ok, so i was looking around the net earlier (as you do) lol

and i found this

http://megatopforum.com/topic563.html

and thought hmm thats strange i remember posting that, and it has my sig (4ndr3wk) at the bottom and i had asked that question (it was pretty posible, my username is pretty unique), but not there, but here instead.

then i found this aswell

http://www.totalmasala.com/news/2533...tart-menu.html

original post is here:

http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vi...tart-menu.html

are these just spambots? forums trying to look popular?

btw im sorry if this is in the wrong forum, i just didnt know which one to put it in! move it if necessary.

4ndr3wk
You sure you dont visit those forums in your sleep ? in the masala forum you have posted 29533 times at a rate of 182 posts per day
Blackmirror's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 21,253 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Experience: Chocoholic
24-Aug-2007, 05:36 AM #4
Wow that even beats me lol
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 51,848 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacramento
Experience: Having fun
24-Aug-2007, 07:13 AM #5
Look at the post at the other forums and also look at the...
~~~Student~~~
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 29,533
Last Activity: 06-02-2007 12:07 PM
Total Posts: 29,533 (182.47 posts per day)
Does seem to post a link where he took the post from.
Has the most post at the forum too.
I found lots of other post that are from this site there too.

and
Comit
Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 21180 and has most post there also.

Wow that is a ton of posting

Both have many threads with no replys so are just taking from other sites and posting.
Has to be a bots to get so much.
__________________
Donating to TSG helps to keep the site going so please do your part and help.

Keep Your Security Software Current
Calendar of Updates

Work like you don't need the money.
Love like you've never been hurt.
Dance like nobody's watching.
Sing like nobody's listening.
quote from Satchel Paige

My Pictures
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,663 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
24-Aug-2007, 08:53 AM #6
Yup, they're definately using bots to copy posts onto their site so that they can make money from the ads. We've run into that a few times. It's a PITA to get shut down, and last time cost me a laywer, but it was a little too much like this site and worth it. I'll send them a nastygram and see if they're willing to do the right thing.
MMJ's Avatar
MMJ MMJ is offline
Distinguished Member with 3,250 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
31-Aug-2007, 11:02 AM #7
Lol, losers.
Blackmirror's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 21,253 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Experience: Chocoholic
05-Sep-2007, 08:48 AM #8
Have they copied any of my posts ....
dr911's Avatar
Senior Member with 494 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern Arizona
Experience: Intermediate
12-Sep-2007, 03:19 AM #9
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy
Yup, they're definately using bots to copy posts onto their site so that they can make money from the ads. We've run into that a few times. It's a PITA to get shut down, and last time cost me a laywer, but it was a little too much like this site and worth it. I'll send them a nastygram and see if they're willing to do the right thing.

Go get them....TechGuy...yeaaaaaa !!!
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,382 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
19-Sep-2007, 07:52 AM #10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackmirror
Have they copied any of my posts ....
Perhaps you kitty nibbled them before they were posted
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who help people like you solve computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.



Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.