There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
acer black screen boot bsod computer connection crash css dell drive driver drivers email error ethernet excel explorer firefox firefox 3 game hard drive internet internet explorer itunes laptop lcd linux malware monitor network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook express printer problem problems ram router slow sound startup trojan usb video virus vista windows windows xp wireless
Site Comments & Suggestions
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Community > Site Comments & Suggestions >
Solved: TSG is blocking!!


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
11-Dec-2007, 02:24 AM #1
Solved: TSG is blocking!!
Thought if it is good idea to do something before Websense (website filter) blocks the entire website...

I got to get Websense sorted because they blocked 4 or more page in TSG because of "All Student"

I think it's best to sort this problem before Websense blocks the entrie site means losing socialing during college break and lunch-time. I havent got any deaf friends in college, well some but they on course...

Websense is installed in my college network.

Stall i contact Websense, or you can do it, Websense have placed forum on wrong place, it's supposed to be Message and Boards, where it blocks, but allow access for work only... let me find one for that..

It's on Ebuyer forum.. See the difference catalog.. Message and Boards...

All Student is like... Video, Games... but this is not really and it's just a forum...

What can i do next? Let you to sort out? or you want me to sort out (including e-mailing Websense and ask Network Administrator.
Attached Thumbnails
solved-tsg-blocking-copy-wslogo.gif  solved-tsg-blocking-other_block.jpg  solved-tsg-blocking-otherb1.jpg  solved-tsg-blocking-otherb2.jpg  solved-tsg-blocking-ebuyer_forum_block.jpg  

__________________
PLEASE WISH ME LUCK ABOUT JOB AND DRIVING IN Announcements!!!

Agreed with Eggplant43's comment. If we be 10% nicer, We can transform the world.

Room full of people, and there are loud rockin' speaker, there DJ called SPEAKERSROCK!! - Best friend

My Company

My Spam's Inbox = spamcatcher@oxygenmail.com
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,663 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
11-Dec-2007, 07:10 AM #2
They say they get their information from "numerous sources" so I'm not sure how much categorizing they do themselves or if they just stole some bad information. Feel free to drop them a note and let me know if you get anywhere or find someone to talk to.
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
11-Dec-2007, 09:56 AM #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy
They say they get their information from "numerous sources" so I'm not sure how much categorizing they do themselves or if they just stole some bad information. Feel free to drop them a note and let me know if you get anywhere or find someone to talk to.
I'll email Websense regarding about TechGuy Forum and tell them TechGuy is for support forum and relaxing forum...
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,663 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
11-Dec-2007, 11:40 AM #4
Feel free to CC me or give them my address, too... mike@techguy.org is probably the best one to use. Thanks!
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
11-Dec-2007, 03:57 PM #5
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy
Feel free to CC me or give them my address, too... mike@techguy.org is probably the best one to use. Thanks!
I'll sort this matter out tomorrow,
AcaCandy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 100,200 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV & Acapulco, Mexico
Experience: Advanced
13-Dec-2007, 10:40 AM #6
*tapping foot*
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
13-Dec-2007, 11:09 PM #7
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcaCandy
*tapping foot*
Well, Im a busy student but I PROMISE i will sort this in TODAY...

PROMISE.... I promise?
Davec's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 2,623 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Roseburg, OR USA
Experience: Intermediate
14-Dec-2007, 12:59 PM #8
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyComputerMan
Well, Im a busy student but I PROMISE i will sort this in TODAY...

PROMISE.... I promise?
Don't worry. The Saint may be considering taking action on the tapping foot problem.
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
14-Dec-2007, 10:08 PM #9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davec
Don't worry. The Saint may be considering taking action on the tapping foot problem.
Are you following AcaCandy around the forum?

I sent that message to Mike and Websense.

Quote:
Dear Websense

I am writing to you about website filtering www.TechGuy.org website.

I has found out recently some of my subscribed thread has been blocked by WebSense because of "All Student"

But some of thread is not affecting any games, streaming media, download.

I have provided some of screen shot of website filtering TechGuy.
The link is http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?t=661053

I thought the message would appear as "Message Boards and Forums" but why "All Student"? I have tested your filtering system by connecting to EBuyer forum. (http://forums.ebuyer.com/forumdisplay.php) and appear as "Message Boards and Forums"

Feel welcome to ask me any question.

Addition information about TSG can be found at http://www.techguy.org/aboutus.html

Thank you for taking the time to read this message.

Last edited by Cookiegal : 19-Dec-2007 08:36 AM.
Couriant's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 23,508 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Proud Brit in VA
Experience: B.S. in M.I.S
15-Dec-2007, 12:57 AM #10
I would assume it's your school network admin has made the filter, not WebSense. Perhaps they could add forums.techguy.org onto an allow list.
SIXX's Avatar
Senior Member with 387 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
15-Dec-2007, 10:35 PM #11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Couriant View Post
I would assume it's your school network admin has made the filter, not WebSense. Perhaps they could add forums.techguy.org onto an allow list.
You are correct. CCM You need to contact your Schooll network Admin. This policy was set up by whoever is in charge of websense for your school. The last company I worked for used websense and all policies were set by the network admins.
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
16-Dec-2007, 06:27 AM #12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIXX View Post
You are correct. CCM You need to contact your Schooll network Admin. This policy was set up by whoever is in charge of websense for your school. The last company I worked for used websense and all policies were set by the network admins.
Okay will post to Network Admin.
CrazyComputerMan's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 11,385 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England, UK :)
Experience: Advanced
18-Dec-2007, 03:12 AM #13
Hey.... I can access some blocked part of TSG.... I tried here, Awesome thread, Double letters, Happy Birthday CookieGal Threads, i could access them all, that must Websense contact network admin to solve this problem, I think the problem could be solved. I'm still not sure if there is some page is blocked...
__________________
PLEASE WISH ME LUCK ABOUT JOB AND DRIVING IN Announcements!!!

Agreed with Eggplant43's comment. If we be 10% nicer, We can transform the world.

Room full of people, and there are loud rockin' speaker, there DJ called SPEAKERSROCK!! - Best friend

My Company

My Spam's Inbox = spamcatcher@oxygenmail.com
LauraMJ's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 4,363 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere back in the Mountain
Experience: better than my sister
18-Dec-2007, 07:24 AM #14
Good to have you back!
Blackmirror's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 21,262 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Experience: Chocoholic
18-Dec-2007, 07:30 AM #15
CCM you have put your real name in that letter. I would remove it to be safe please
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who help people like you solve computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.



Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.