There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
 
Site Comments & Suggestions
Tag Cloud
adware audio bios blue screen boot bsod computer crash dell driver drivers dvd email error excel firefox freeze freezing google hard drive hardware hijackthis install internet laptop linux malware network no sound outlook problem reboot router screen slow sound speakers spyware startup trojan usb video virus vista vundo windows windows 7 windows vista windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Community > Site Comments & Suggestions >
"Ask Tech Support Now" Ad

Tip: Click here to scan for System Errors and Optimize PC performance
[ Sponsored Link ]

 
Thread Tools
NeonFx's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,454 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California, USA
03-Jul-2009, 04:26 PM #1
"Ask Tech Support Now" Ad
Hi everyone.

I thought I should post this here. There is advertising that I think is deceiving enough to take people away from the website while they think they're still in techguy.org.

If you look at my attachment you can easily notice what they're trying to do. When you click on it it takes you to a page that forces you to register for their service, if you try to exit the page you get a popup trying to convince you to stay.

The dropdown menu works, and you can actually type something into the text box, making it seem even more legitimate.

Could it be called a rogue support forum? haha

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/...Off0322359.htm
http://www.complaintsboard.com/compl...m-c142537.html
Attached Thumbnails
"Ask Tech Support Now" Ad-tsganswerad.jpg   "Ask Tech Support Now" Ad-tsgansweradmini.jpg  
__________________
Please post the final results, good or bad. Let me know if you won't be responding any longer.
If I have not responded in three days, please feel free to PM me with a friendly reminder.
Please don't send me requests for help. Use the forums instead.

Last edited by NeonFx : 03-Jul-2009 05:20 PM. Reason: added another pic
Blackmirror's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 27,877 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Experience: Chocoholic
03-Jul-2009, 04:57 PM #2
Thank you for that
I am sure someone will be along to give an opinnion
LauraMJ's Avatar
LauraMJ has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Administrator with 6,763 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere back in the Mountain
Experience: better than my sister
03-Jul-2009, 06:29 PM #3
I agree, I think that one is quite confusing, especially for new or inexperienced users.
vicks's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 2,773 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Experience: Intermediate
03-Jul-2009, 08:38 PM #4
LauraMJ
You hit the nail on the head....
vicks
Jason08's Avatar
Jason08 has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,606 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Experience: Advanced in Networking
03-Jul-2009, 09:32 PM #5
I think I've seen it before, but never paid any attention. Ha! Caught it viewing this thread!
Attached Thumbnails
"Ask Tech Support Now" Ad-techsupportnow-ad-tsg-7-3  
Gizzy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,425 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Experience: Comp Security Enthusiast
04-Jul-2009, 01:49 AM #6
I'm seeing that one a lot (the top ad and side one at the same time) and it looks like the person that posted in this thread http://forums.techguy.org/general-se...-up-avast.html thought they were supposed to use it, so it is confusing.

Quote:
Ironically, when I tried the "Ask Tech Support Now" feature (up above) & tried the Submit Question button, that too, did not work.
__________________
Have you considered using a Limited User Account to improve your computer's security?
Help Add Content At The Official Tech Support Guy Library Of Knowledge!
ekim68's Avatar
Community Moderator with 25,444 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Experience: Still kickin'
04-Jul-2009, 02:18 AM #7
It is annoying but, it is part of the ads that help pay for this site...If you donate $20.00 to TechGuy, they will disappear, as I recall...
NeonFx's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,454 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California, USA
04-Jul-2009, 02:28 AM #8
I know that filters are in place to prevent ads from appearing if they link users to rogue antispyware websites. I figured this would fall under a similar category seeing as it is a link to a scam website that pretends to be legitimate and tricks our users into clicking on their ads and potentially tricking them into spending money.

Getting rid of the ad is not to avoid annoyances, but to safeguard TSGs reputation.
Attached Thumbnails
"Ask Tech Support Now" Ad-tsgansweraddouble.jpg  
__________________
Please post the final results, good or bad. Let me know if you won't be responding any longer.
If I have not responded in three days, please feel free to PM me with a friendly reminder.
Please don't send me requests for help. Use the forums instead.

Last edited by NeonFx : 04-Jul-2009 02:38 AM. Reason: added a pic
Gizzy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,425 posts.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Experience: Comp Security Enthusiast
04-Jul-2009, 02:42 AM #9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekim68 View Post
It is annoying but, it is part of the ads that help pay for this site...If you donate $20.00 to TechGuy, they will disappear, as I recall...
Yes that's an easy way to get rid of the ads but I believe this thread was because it's confusing to new or inexperienced users who think they're supposed to ask for help using the textbox in that ad thinking they'll get an answer sooner, not realizing it's just an ad.

See my earlier post where I referred to a thread where the user thought they were supposed to ask for help using that ad.
__________________
Have you considered using a Limited User Account to improve your computer's security?
Help Add Content At The Official Tech Support Guy Library Of Knowledge!
aka Brett's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 7,640 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Surrounded by liberals-Midwest
Experience: Yep
04-Jul-2009, 04:57 AM #10
Whats the ppc
Jason08's Avatar
Jason08 has a Photo Album
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,606 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Experience: Advanced in Networking
04-Jul-2009, 11:33 AM #11
Yeah, it's not that is so annoying to me, but it can really lead to a lot of confusion.
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 9,801 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
04-Jul-2009, 02:15 PM #12
I'm not convinced it's any kind of scam or that they're trying to trick anyone, but I am sure many people have had bad experiences (as with any company)... I'll look into it further when I have some time on Monday.
Blackmirror's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 27,877 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: uk
Experience: Chocoholic
04-Jul-2009, 03:02 PM #13
From the site
Quote:
'No Assurances Given From and No Reliance on Term 'Expert' Throughout this Site, certain terms, including 'Expert', 'Specialist', 'Consultant' or 'Advisor' may be used to refer to someone who claims to have certain knowledge, background or experience that may be useful in responding to a question posed by a user. Use of such terms provides no assurance that the person answering your question has any expertise or qualifications to give such advice. You acknowledge that JustAnswer has not and cannot independently verify their qualifications. If you do not like any answer for any reason, your sole remedy is to disregard the answer and not pay for it. Notwithstanding the foregoing, JustAnswer reserves the right, but is not obligated, to remove any content that it believes violates any of these Terms, including, without limitation, any objectionable or personally identifiable information.'
I wouldnt pay for advice i can get Free from TSG
vicks's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 2,773 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Experience: Intermediate
04-Jul-2009, 04:53 PM #14
I second Black Mirror!!!!!
vicks
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 54,706 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacra
Experience: Having fun
04-Jul-2009, 05:42 PM #15
Also the colors used make it bad because it seems to show off that it is part of TSG and that can make others think they pay to get help faster when it has nothing to do with TSG.

May be best to have it so no malware or tech help ads are here at the site.
Reply Bookmark and Share

Smart Search

Find your solution!



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.

Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.