Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Software Development Software Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Excel error when opening file with VB script

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 12 posts.

Experience: Beginner
23-Feb-2012, 11:48 AM #1
Solved: Excel error when opening file with VB script
I am fairly new to VB. I am using a vb script to open an excel file. It works on two of our computers. However 3 other co-workers get an error when they run the same script. Excel opens a new workbook and pops up an error windows that says "Excel has encountered and error and needs to close. We are all on windows XP, Excel 2007.

Below is the script. There is a larger script, but i narrowed the error down to this set of lines. When i copied these into a .vbs all by themselves I get the error on the three computers. So I know this is culprit. I know the file and path are correct (since it works on 2 out of the 5 computers) and all have the same access to the same network drive. Do I need to declare teh objExcel, or am I missing something else? Your help/advice will be great appreciated.

Set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
objExcel.Workbooks.Open "Fully Qualified Path\FileName.xlsx"
objExcel.Visible = True
Keebellah   (Hans) Keebellah is offline Keebellah is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions. Keebellah has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 5,269 posts.

Experience: Advanced
25-Feb-2012, 06:32 PM #2
Hi welcome to the forum.

Can these people open the Execl file without a problem without the VB script? Just double clicking the file?
Computer Specs
Member with 12 posts.

27-Feb-2012, 10:57 PM #3
Thanks. Yes, all users can open the file manually through excel or by double clicking on it. However they cannot through the script. I have also tried:
  1. Excel Diagnostics (detect and repair)
  2. Updating anti-virus