Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Software Development Software Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Question about software "portability"...

(!)

Computer Specs
Account Disabled with 67 posts.

Experience: Beginner
29-Jun-2012, 05:10 PM #1
Question about software "portability"...
I'm new to computer/software programming.

I wanted to see if anyone here can speculate/knows how software code is directly translated for different "platforms"(operating systems).

For example, some IDEs have options to release code and executables for Mac, Linux, Windows, etc.

But what is the difference in the code?

Or is the difference in the way it is compiled? I don't really understand this.

I compile a simple "Hello World" program under Windows like this:

Code:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main(int args, char *LOC[])
{
cout << "Hello World";
return 0;
}
Is there some specific "on-code" difference per-platform?
allnodcoms   (Danny) allnodcoms is offline allnodcoms has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 610 posts.

Experience: Advanced
29-Jun-2012, 08:02 PM #2
The difference is purely in the way it is compiled. Let's take your example, it simply prints some text to the screen, but the way the operating system achieves this is different on each platform. On Mac OS it may go to the Core Graphics suite, on Windows it would go to DirectX. The code would be exactly the same for each, but the platform specific compilation would add the details relevant to the target OS, adding the DX or CG library calls needed to actually print the data.
Remember that graphic output (even to the level of printing a string) is turning on / off individual pixels on a screen, and C cannot possibly know how to do this for every graphic card, on every monitor and at every resolution, so it farms this out to a platform specific OS call.