Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Software Development Software Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Will Cargo fit in container program (C++)

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 264 posts.

Experience: Advanced
29-Jul-2012, 11:41 AM #1
Solved: Will Cargo fit in container program (C++)
Hello,

I am in my second year of my Software Engineering BSc and was set this problem over the summer by one of my lecturers to either solve yourself or find out how to do it if you can't, so here I am ..

The problem I have been presented with is to create a program where the user can enter what cargo they wish to load into a container, it's size (i.e. width, length, height), and how many of that type of cargo there is. The user can then specify the size of the container they wish to put this cargo into. The application must then calculate if it is possible to fit all this cargo inside the container and if it fits, how to stack the cargo inside the container.

Now I have been doing this in C++ using QT as a frontend gui for the visualizing the whole thing as well as entering the data however there are so many variables that are in play that writing an function that does this successfully is prooving to be quite difficult and was wondering if anyone could give me any tips on how to solve this problem..

This is what I have so far:

I started by creating two structures to hold both the Container Details and the Details of each bit of cargo:

Code:
struct CargoDetails { //Structure to hold container details
    std::string ContainerName;
    double Width, Height, Length, Weight;
    int NumAmount;
} AddedCargo[100];

struct ContainerDetails { //Structure to hold container details
    std::string ContainerName;
    double Width, Height, Length, Weight;
}SelectedContainer;