Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Software Development Software Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

VB Script to Run a Batch File and Utilize a Text File

(!)

Member with 11 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
10-Aug-2012, 01:03 PM #1
Post VB Script to Run a Batch File and Utilize a Text File
Backround: I am a college student majoring in Information Technology with a focus in programming. I also work for my school's IT department as an IT associate. I have 4 years of experience dealing with hardware and software and have studied Net+ and A+ certification books.

Problem: At my school my boss, the IT Director, wants to schedule a batch file to run weekly that will delete items from the desktop and folders of the "Student" account on all of the student computers. He asked us associates to go around to every student computer with this batch file on a thumb drive and schedule the task. Seems simple enough right? The problem is we are talking upwards of 300 computers throughout the campus. I proposed a solution to him where we would use a script that would essentially consult a text document with the names of all of the student computers in it, then run the file.

I am 99% this can be done, I just have a very small amount of programming experience. If anyone has an answer or knows of an easier way to accomplish this I appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: All student workstations are running Windows XP SP2

Last edited by ncktravis; 10-Aug-2012 at 01:11 PM.. Reason: workstation
Ent   (Josiah) Ent is offline Ent is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 5,274 posts.

10-Aug-2012, 01:49 PM #2
By the sound of it it could be done; the question is whether it's the best way of doing it.
1: How do you propose to get these computers to execute the VBS? Taking it round on a flash drive isn't a great improvement .