Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Software Development Software Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Batch File For/If Loop issue.

(!)

Member with 102 posts.

Experience: Advanced
05-May-2009, 02:04 PM #1
Question Batch File For/If Loop issue.
(Note: The client machines that will be running this batch file will all be WinXP, and my own machine has the 2k3 resource kit also, and much of this was written on Vista and verified on XP. I've been writing batch files in some manner or another for ~10 years).

Alright, so I like to think I'm good with batch, but inevitably I miss something really silly and end up scratching my head for days. I've asked a lot of people that I work with, and no one seems to have an answer aside from "Well, don't use batch use (insert scripting language that I don't know here)". While I'm working on learning other languages, I'm still a big fan of batch, and it's what I've used for years. Anyway, to my problem...

There is a specific application installed throughout our domain on random computers which needs to go away. The easiest way I can see to do this is to have a batch file called from the startup scripts that checks the machine for the files, and if it finds them, it kills them. Here's what I've got...

Code:

Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DWRCS.exe" > %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt
Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DNTUS26.exe" >> %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt
Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DWRCS.INI" >> %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt
Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DWRCK.DLL" >> %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt
Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DWRCSET.DLL" >> %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt
Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DWRCSHELL.DLL" >> %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt
Dir /s /b %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ | Find /i "DWRCST.EXE" >> %SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt

:Loop
For /f %%i IN (%SYSTEMDRIVE%\dwtoremove.txt) DO (