Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Tech Tips and Reviews Tech Tips and Reviews
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: HP Recovery via base.wim file.

(!)

Computer Specs
Member with 0 posts.

Experience: Advanced
02-Apr-2012, 06:33 AM #1
Post Solved: HP Recovery via base.wim file.
Now this is simply for informational purposes. It is not a question.

I work as a workshop Tech and I recently came across a rather frustrating and puzzling issue.
Now the issue was that the HDD had failed in a HP Compaq and it had to be replaced.
The COA on the bottom of the laptop had been worn off the the state it was completely unreadable (a common issue with laptops), removing the option of simply reinstalling a fresh copy of Windows.
The bad sectors and difference in size of the HDD had prevented me from being able to clone the old HDD to the new one.
After a little research, most people had suggested using recovery discs. This was not an option as there were none with the machine. Another suggestion was to purchase the recovery media from HP, this was also not an option as HP has only a limited supply of these discs for each model and as support for this machine had ended (because HP no longer supports machines out of warranty.)
Now this had left me in somewhat of a pickle. So I mulled it over for a while and a little more research eventually came across a .wim (base.wim) file in the recovery partition of the old HDD. *EDIT* The contents of the recovery partition were marked as system files, so you need to make sure the computer you are viewing the partition on is enabled to view system protected files. */EDIT*
I opened the file (using 7zip) and discovered 4 images in the file. If you are familiar with .wim files you will understand that the images are simply numbered folders (1 to 4.)