There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
access audio avg avg 8 bios blue screen boot bsod computer connection cpu crash css dell desktop dma driver drivers dvd email error excel explorer firefox firefox 3 freeze gimp graphics hard drive hardware hijackthis hjt install internet internet explorer itunes keyboard laptop macro malware monitor motherboard network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook 2007 outlook express pio problem problems router seo server slow sound sp3 spyware trojan usb video virtumonde virus vista vundo windows windows vista windows xp winxp wireless
Tech Tips & Tricks
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > General Technology > Tech Tips & Tricks >
Anyone Aware that Google does this?


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

 
Thread Tools
JStergis's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,349 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: what we call our mistakes
29-Nov-2006, 09:34 PM #1
Anyone Aware that Google does this?
Just hit a link in google and I got this. Pretty neat.
Attached Thumbnails
anyone-aware-google-does-image1.jpg  
ferrija1's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 9,646 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Mac Addict
29-Nov-2006, 09:43 PM #2
Yeah, I've gotten that message once or twice, I'm glad they do that.
JStergis's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,349 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: what we call our mistakes
29-Nov-2006, 10:00 PM #3
First time I've ever gotten it. Pretty nifty though.
WhitPhil's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 8,346 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Whitby, Ontario
29-Nov-2006, 10:34 PM #4
Any idea exactly what it is that is going to "damage my computer"?

The site certainly appears innocuous!
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 51,502 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacramento
Experience: Having fun
30-Nov-2006, 12:29 AM #5
I never seen that. Do you have to have the google toolbar or something installed to see that?

Hey what theme are you using on firefox JStergis?
Gizzy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Senior Member with 1,160 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Experience: Some Of This Some Of That
30-Nov-2006, 04:39 AM #6
I've never gotten that before, nice feature though, I'll probably get it eventually I use google alot but I guess everyone does.
JStergis's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,349 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: what we call our mistakes
30-Nov-2006, 06:40 AM #7
Nope, no Google toolbar.

The theme I'm using is Noia Extreme
defuse3388's Avatar
Member with 44 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
30-Nov-2006, 06:44 AM #8
I think the page is displayed in a different language that the computer fails to know. Or it can really be something malicious, but why would Google support such unethical site?
JohnWill's Avatar
Computer Specs
Moderator with 77,418 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Eastern PA, USA
Experience: Advanced age & experience
30-Nov-2006, 09:15 AM #9
I suspect you may not have set your options on Google Search.
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 51,502 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacramento
Experience: Having fun
30-Nov-2006, 02:15 PM #10
I could get the same thing to come up if I typed in http://www.google.com/interstitial?u...ng/652327.html but how JStergis got there in the first place I do not know.
I see in the right Firefox google search bar "california, red hot chilli peppers" but that does not bring up anything bad either but "Did you mean: california, red hot chili peppers"

But I did type in into the google search page this "http://www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/652327.html" you see iin the screen shot and I get this...
Your search - http://www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/652327.html - did not match any documents.

But then "www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/652327.html" and note it is the same link without the http:// and I get this here you see below.
Attached Thumbnails
anyone-aware-google-does-redhot.gif  
__________________
Donating to TSG helps to keep the site going so please do your part and help.

Keep Your Security Software Current
Calendar of Updates

Work like you don't need the money.
Love like you've never been hurt.
Dance like nobody's watching.
Sing like nobody's listening.
quote from Satchel Paige

My Pictures
JohnWill's Avatar
Computer Specs
Moderator with 77,418 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Eastern PA, USA
Experience: Advanced age & experience
30-Nov-2006, 02:25 PM #11
I did that search with IE7, and way down the list that site appears. I didn't get any special warning, but I didn't go there either.
JStergis's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 3,349 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: what we call our mistakes
30-Nov-2006, 04:58 PM #12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hewee
I could get the same thing to come up if I typed in http://www.google.com/interstitial?u...ng/652327.html but how JStergis got there in the first place I do not know.
I see in the right Firefox google search bar "california, red hot chilli peppers" but that does not bring up anything bad either but "Did you mean: california, red hot chili peppers"

But I did type in into the google search page this "http://www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/652327.html" you see iin the screen shot and I get this...
Your search - http://www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/652327.html - did not match any documents.

But then "www.lyricsandsongs.com/song/652327.html" and note it is the same link without the http:// and I get this here you see below.
I was searching for lyrics to that song someone posted in the "...Listening..." forum to see if it was the same one I was thinking of, and that was one of the first links.

I clicked on it and got the warning.
hewee's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 51,502 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacramento
Experience: Having fun
30-Nov-2006, 10:47 PM #13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStergis
I was searching for lyrics to that song someone posted in the "...Listening..." forum to see if it was the same one I was thinking of, and that was one of the first links.

I clicked on it and got the warning.
Ok thanks
What gets me is the warning I got in the above screen shot is like a 3rd party because I am not even at there site but at google so why did it even come up?
I wonder why?
wr4698er73678's Avatar
Account Disabled with 326 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Experience: Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician
02-Dec-2006, 06:41 AM #14
The warning came up because google detected a malicious site in their index...ive have that a hundred times, and guess what..i was searching for lyrics all those times...
JohnWill's Avatar
Computer Specs
Moderator with 77,418 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Eastern PA, USA
Experience: Advanced age & experience
02-Dec-2006, 02:23 PM #15
I tried to actually go to the link, and got the same warning. I guess it's a "standard" feature, since I have my Google options not to filter my search results.
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.