There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
Search
Virus & Other Malware Removal
Tag Cloud
acer asus bios bsod computer crash driver drivers error ethernet excel freeze gaming gpu hard drive hardware hdmi internet laptop malware memory missing modem monitor motherboard mouse netgear network printer problem ram registry router slow software sound svchost.exe toshiba trojan usb video virus vista wifi windows windows 7 windows 7 32 bit windows 7 64 bit windows xp wireless
Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy Forums > Security & Malware Removal > Virus & Other Malware Removal >
what is "avenue A inc" ??? (New)

Reply  
Thread Tools
phoneguy55's Avatar
Member with 233 posts.
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Troy,NY,USA
16-Apr-2003, 02:16 AM #1
what is "avenue A inc" ???
I just ran Spybot and saw that it had a few little changes since last run.....one was an option to alert you when spyware is being blocked....I checked it just to see how it worked. Ironically the first site I went to was this one and every page load yields a popup warning that "Avenue A inc" has been blocked. Is this some kind of tracking cookie that has always been there, but now is being flagged?

obviously I will need to turn off the popup warning in Spybot
....( there is now an option to silently block also)

all this stuff is under a new menu item in Spybot called immunization....

just wondering what your thoughts are on this........
hewee's Avatar
Computer Specs
Distinguished Member with 57,922 posts.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: *Random People Pleaser***Sacra
Experience: Having fun
16-Apr-2003, 02:33 AM #2
phoneguy55,

Yes it is a tracking cookie. I just had the same pop-up on Spybot the other day for "Avenue A inc".

Just block it and go on your way.
Whipersnaper's Avatar
Junior Member with 1 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2003
11-May-2003, 09:01 PM #3
Angry What's it doing here?
HI!

So, why on THIS site should there be a tracking cookie?!??
Gordon7000's Avatar
Member with 213 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Largs, Scotland, UK
12-May-2003, 03:13 AM #4
Hi phoneguy55,

There's a bit more info here about the former Avenue A Inc. cookies.

http://www.spywareinfo.com/forums/in...7&hl=avenue+a&

Regards, Gordon
bareznacoff's Avatar
Junior Member with 1 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: IOWA
07-Jul-2003, 03:12 AM #5
Hello. I did a google search for Avenue A inc,. and I ended up at this forum. I constanly get a message from SpyBot that it has blocked the downloading of Avenue A inc,. I wrote an email to the company http://www.avenuea.com/ and asked them why I was getting notices that they were attempting to download tracking device on my PC. We'll go figure, NO REPLY! It does get alittle annoying after a while. Is there a way so SpyBot stops announcing it is stopping the download every time.. thanks.
Top Banana's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,344 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
07-Jul-2003, 03:16 AM #6
Spybot S&D > Immunize > Block all bad pages silently.
Cosmic's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,343 posts.
 
Join Date: May 2003
07-Jul-2003, 12:37 PM #7
These Avenue A claims that it is no longer an active collecting unit under the old name is probably as bogus as a three dollar bill.

They want you to believe, "they upgraded" and the old vacuum cleaner is just out there sucking up information but not connected to anything. I have a bridge to sell you. Yeah, yeah ..... they even go to great trouble to only give you Blank or Dummy cookies. Why not just give me like NONE.

This is an extremely aggressive collection agency. I finally did get Spy-Bot to quit reporting it as being found. I blocked it via the TOOLS>INTERNET>PRIVACY route. My bad guy list is:

http://www.gator.com/

http://www.advertising.com/

http://www.cj.com/

http://www.commission-junction.com/

http://www.doubleclick.com/

http://www.atlasdmt.com/

http://www.websidestory.com/

http://www.doubleclick.net/

http://www.edge.ru4.com/

http://images.trafficmp.com/

http://www.avenuea.com/

These appear to be the heavy hitters. Stop them and you stop most pop ups and a lot of cookie activity.

My cookie manager still captures them being very aggressive under atdmt.com/ and Lord knows how many other morphed alias. They are simply corralled and held in a bad guy list. I check the manager after any surfing session and dump the new batch of tame fellows it caught and is holding. The bad actors above are always caught in the act as well and flagged. I love to mash them like lil bugs.

My goal was to manage the cookies to let me see what was happening, weed out the bad ones automatically and just let me keep the 25 or so valid ones I really want. Finally seem to have accomplished that goal. Spy-Bot lately gives me a clean Bill of Health with nothing found. I didn't set it up to immunize.

Somebody has to figure out how to really mess with their little advertising twisted minds. I want to start reporting to them I just bought 1,000,000 left handed garden rakes at $39.95 each. Bogus, lying cookies; now there is a real need for the computing masses. BTW I am interested in buying Treenie pipes for my turbo-encabulator modular snorkelling unit next month.

>>>>
NiteHawk's Avatar
Senior Member with 4,733 posts.
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago burbs
12-Aug-2003, 06:06 PM #8
Let me know who buys that bridge you have for sale. They can put it over the dry land I have for sale in southern Flordia!!
WEEZER76's Avatar
Junior Member with 1 posts.
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
17-Sep-2003, 01:17 AM #9
HOW TO STOP AVENUE A
HELLO,

I THINK I FIGURED OUT HOW TO STOP AVENUE A COOKIES FOR GOOD. I RELOADED THE AFFECTED WEBPAGE AND USED THE PACKET SNIFFER "NetworkActiv PIAFCTM 1.5" TO FIGURE OUT THAT ADS FROM "aboutwebservices.com" WERE CAUSING THE COOKIE TO BE PLACED ON MY SYSTEM. SO I THEN WENT TO THE WEBSITE BLOCKER ON MY FIREWALL "AGNITUM OUTPOST" AND ENTERED THAT WEBSITE. NO MORE AVENUE A COOKIE ALERTS.

REGARDS,
W.R.
Reply

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.

Search Tech Support Guy

Find the solution to your
computer problem!




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who want to help you solve your computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.
Thread Tools



Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter TechGuy.tv TechGuy.tv Mobile TSG Mobile
You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 AM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2011 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.