Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Web Design & Development Web Design & Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

New to Cpanel.

(!)

Member with 86 posts.

13-Jun-2012, 04:39 PM #1
New to Cpanel.
I am new to Cpanel. I have been exploring it lately and watching some tutorial videos to learn how to use it. There is one thing I cannot figure out though. I know this is probably a newb question but that is what I am as far as cpanel goes. I have a template that I want to upload so that I can use it as my website. I don't know how to do that. Also, how do you actually finalize everything so the public can visit your website. Whenever I type in my domain in the address bar I don't even get "site is under construction" display. It seems as the domain is non existent. Plus I put some html files in the public_html folder but I cant view those from my browser either. Any advice would be great, as I am paying monthly for this and I want to utilize it as much as I can.
JiminSA   (Jim) JiminSA is offline JiminSA has a Profile Picture
Computer Specs
Member with 1,764 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
15-Jun-2012, 01:18 PM #2
I know that many hosts invite you to use their Control Panel to do all your FTP (File Terminal Processing) uploading. However I find that using Filezilla as my FTP handler is very straightforward and it is a dependable Free Open Source piece of software which is widely used. (Just Google "filezilla download" and get a hold of it).
Incidentally, you said
Quote:
Plus I put some html files in the public_html folder but I cant view those from my browser either
Was this achieved by using the Host's FTP handler in the Control Panel?

The FTP Hostname; Username and password you'll need, should already have been sent to you by your host in an introductory email. If not, take a look around in the control panel info or your user login to the host's page info...