Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Web Design & Development Web Design & Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

Solved: Facebook Like Plugin Not Working

(!)

Member with 108 posts.

Experience: Beginner
30-Nov-2012, 11:57 PM #1
Solved: Facebook Like Plugin Not Working
First a question for someone that uses one!

I created a FB page basically to advertise my website. What I'm confused about is whether the URL in the plugin should be that of the FB page, or my website itself. And if it can be either, why would you chose one vs. the other?

Real FB novice here!

Second, I dropped the Like button code generated on FB into this simple webpage, and I get nothing displayed at all. Same in my actual website, but this will be simpler to look at. Any ideas?

Thanks so much,

Peter

I work in HTML and some JavaScript, but don't understand much of the below code:

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>Blank Screen</title>
</head>
<body>

<div id="fb-root"></div>
<script>(function(d, s, id) {
  var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
  if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
  js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
  js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1";
  fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

<div class="fb-like" data-href="http://www.TherapyDogOrganizations.net" data-send="false" data-layout="box_count" data-width="55" data-show-faces="false" data-font="verdana"></div>

</body>
</html>
Ent   (Josiah) Ent is offline Ent is a Trusted Advisor with special permissions.
Computer Specs
Trusted Advisor with 5,217 posts.

Experience: Intermediate
01-Dec-2012, 04:13 AM #2
Which do you want to promote more?