There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
JoinTour
Login
 
Tag Cloud
acer audio black screen blue screen boot computer connection crash css dell drive driver drivers email error ethernet excel explorer firefox firefox 3 hard drive internet internet explorer itunes laptop linux malware network networking outlook outlook 2003 outlook express password printer problem problems ram router security slow software sound trojan usb virus vista windows windows vista windows xp wireless
Web Design & Development
Search
Search in:
 
Advanced Search
Tech Support Guy Forums > Internet & Networking > Web Design & Development >
Buying a domain name


HELLO AND WELCOME! Before you can post your question, you'll have to register -- it's completely free! Click here to join today! We highly recommend that you print a copy of our Guide for New Members. Enjoy!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
puter hater's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,946 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Norco,California
06-Oct-2005, 07:19 PM #1
Buying a domain name
The owners of the domain name newlifechristianschool.com are accepting offers from interested parties willing to obtain ownership rights over the domain name. You can place your offer by filling out the form below.
This is a good faith offer. If you believe that your rights are violated please read the disclaimer



I was wondering what ownership rights mean? What it means to the company or person buying the name?. Do you still register it every year? The school my son goes to is named above and they are interested in buying the name but they are a bit weary because they and I do not understand the process.
puter hater
__________________
puter hater
"Well, it's not the men in your life that counts, it's the life in your men."
Squashman's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 12,698 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave
06-Oct-2005, 07:44 PM #2
They are basically offering to transfer ownership of the domain name to anyone who wishes to pay them. You still have to keep the registration up. You can usually pay a few years in advanced.

This is available
NEWLIFECHRISTIANSCHOOL.US

You might also check into getting an .edu domain since it is a school. I am not sure who handles those.
__________________
I hate asking the same question twice!
How to ask questions the smart way!
Microsoft MVP - Windows Shell/User
Squashman's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 12,698 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave
06-Oct-2005, 07:52 PM #3
Here it is.
http://www.educause.edu/edudomain/
NEWLIFECHRISTIANSCHOOL.EDU is available to request!
brendandonhu's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 15,988 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Experience: Advanced
06-Oct-2005, 09:14 PM #4
It means the name is already registered and they'll probably quote you a ridiculous price for it.
puter hater's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,946 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Norco,California
07-Oct-2005, 01:15 AM #5
According to the site an offer of $600.00 might do it. That is not to bad that is if u really want the name.
HMMMMM edu. now I wonder. Its a school. But what do u think,would it be harder to fine being .edu instead of .com?
Squashman's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 12,698 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave
10-Oct-2005, 11:50 AM #6
$600 is outrageous. I pay roughly about $9 for my domain names. I would go for the .edu if I were you or the .US
TechGuy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 8,663 posts.
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Experience: Advanced
10-Oct-2005, 12:47 PM #7
I believe you need to meet some pretty tough standards to get an .EDU, but maybe that's not a problem for you.

$600 is a bargain if it's the name you want -- I've spent a lot more for names that I really wanted (www.techguy.com most recently). A lot of companies just buy up .com names as fast as they expire in hopes of selling them for thousands -- and, given enough time, they usually do.
Squashman's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 12,698 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave
10-Oct-2005, 01:02 PM #8
Too me, the whole system seems like Blackmail and extorsion! They really need to crack down on this crap.
AcaCandy's Avatar
Computer Specs
Administrator with 100,197 posts.
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV & Acapulco, Mexico
Experience: Advanced
10-Oct-2005, 01:10 PM #9
Possession is 9/10ths of the law

I have one that I know a group wants, they email me every few months, and I keep telling them to make me an offer. I'm not going to get rich quick on it, but I'm definitely going to recoup my registration fees since 1999, and then some

Oh, and since Mike hosts it for free, I'll probably owe him something too

I'll make a donation to the site
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop
My Website: http://www.casalasvegas.us/
My Worksite:http://www.supportspace.com/home/exp...ofile/AcaCandy
Limited Time $15 coupon. Email me and I'll send it to you.
http://www.supportspace.com/?aiu=Gen...FQE4GgodlFj1tQ
puter hater's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,946 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Norco,California
10-Oct-2005, 01:33 PM #10
I think $600. is a bargain to. Its a popular name. But she is a small school so all I can do is advise to buy it. Most likely in the future she may be able to let go of it for some extra ducats.

Blackmail is a great word but I BELIEVE they think "FREE ENTERPRISE."
__________________
puter hater
"Well, it's not the men in your life that counts, it's the life in your men."
Squashman's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 12,698 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave
10-Oct-2005, 01:35 PM #11
I live in Wisconsin and most of the schools here either use the .US or .EDU. I don't see a problem with using either of them especially if you are a small school that doesn't have alot of money.
jiml8's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,514 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Experience: I've been at this for too long.
10-Oct-2005, 08:27 PM #12
Quote:
Originally Posted by puter hater
I think $600. is a bargain to. Its a popular name. But she is a small school so all I can do is advise to buy it. Most likely in the future she may be able to let go of it for some extra ducats.

Blackmail is a great word but I BELIEVE they think "FREE ENTERPRISE."
Is New-Life-Christian-School.edu available?
How about NewLife-Christian-School.edu?
or NewLifeChristian-School.edu
or New-LifeChristianSchool.edu
or New_Life_Christian_School.edu
or - well, you get the idea.
brendandonhu's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 15,988 posts.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Experience: Advanced
10-Oct-2005, 09:30 PM #13
The .edu is available, its the .com that's taken
puter hater's Avatar
Senior Member with 1,946 posts.
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Norco,California
10-Oct-2005, 09:54 PM #14
I was going to contact who ever regarding .edu tomorrow. Today was a holiday so I was holiday-ing it I didn't see what the rules were regarding .edu on the site. I may have missied it.
Squashman's Avatar
Distinguished Member with 12,698 posts.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave
11-Oct-2005, 01:57 AM #15
Quote:
Originally Posted by puter hater
I was going to contact who ever regarding .edu tomorrow. Today was a holiday so I was holiday-ing it I didn't see what the rules were regarding .edu on the site. I may have missied it.
You can start the whole process online. Just follow the instructions on the website.
Closed Thread

THIS THREAD HAS EXPIRED.
Are you having the same problem? We have volunteers ready to answer your question, but first you'll have to join for free. Need help getting started? Check out our Welcome Guide.


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
WELCOME TO TECH SUPPORT GUY! Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question -- for free! Our site is run completely by volunteers who help people like you solve computer problems. See our Welcome Guide to get started.



Thread Tools


You Are Using:
Server ID
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.
Copyright © 1996 - 2008 TechGuy, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin, Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Powered by Cermak Technologies, Inc.