Advertisement

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but they're the easiest to answer.
Login
Search

Advertisement

Web Design & Development Web Design & Development
Search Search
Search for:
Tech Support Guy > > >

How do I create my own website?(total beginner)

(!)

Junior Member with 24 posts.

22-Jul-2006, 12:23 AM #1
How do I create my own website?(total beginner)
How do I create my own website? do I need to learn HTML or XML? ...maybe someone knows a good book or website that could teach me? I wan't a website for my family to show pictures but i would also like to serve home video's and stuff.
Member with 129 posts.

22-Jul-2006, 04:43 AM #2
Hi Topjaw. When I started out (not that long ago) I invested in Dreamweaver which is a WYSIWYG editor meaning that you don't theoretically have to understand html to produce a web page. However, by learning the basics of html you will be able to troubleshoot any problems. I also went on to teach myself css - there are heaps of websites that will tell you about html and css - just google. Using a WYSIWYG editor you will accelerate your knowledge of html as you can watch the code being built behind the scenes while you build the page. This method worked for me but I am still learning. Just keep reading, reading, reading about it.

Julie
Computer Specs
Member with 2,183 posts.

Experience: Advanced
22-Jul-2006, 10:30 AM #3
Bingo. Right here:

How to Build a Website

Everything you need.
Member with 2,491 posts.

22-Jul-2006, 10:35 AM #4
Go here and get the free version of Coffecup HTML Editor: http://www.coffeecup.com/free-editor/

That is a code editor/WYSIWG editor. The code editor alooes you to edit the source code directly, the WYSIWG component allows you too work with pages similar to how you would with Word. You can place image and text visually then switch to the code editor to see how it was created.